JPMorgan Chase leads the 100 largest US banks on the depth of its public AI record with 94.5 of 100 points, followed by TD, Fifth Third, BNY, Citi and Santander. 72 of the 100 have named an AI platform or programme; 21 have not disclosed an AI programme, leader, vendor or budget at all. The index counts only what a bank or a tier-1 source has put on the record and the bank's page on this site cites; it measures disclosure, not capability.
How do the 100 largest US banks rank on disclosed AI activity?
| # | Bank | Score | Use cases | Leaders | Numbers | Moves | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | JPMorgan$4.02 trillion · platform named | 94.5 | 5 (2) | 4 | 6 | 12 | 21 / 25 |
| 2 | TD$346 billion · platform named | 94.5 | 6 (4) | 4 | 6 | 9 | 15 / 24 |
| 3 | Fifth Third$296 billion · platform named | 92 | 6 (5) | 4 | 5 | 10 | 14 / 22 |
| 4 | BNY$467 billion · platform named | 91.5 | 5 (5) | 3 | 6 | 13 | 14 / 21 |
| 5 | Citi$1.93 trillion · platform named | 90.2 | 6 (3) | 4 | 6 | 10 | 14 / 15 |
| 6 | Santander$106 billion · platform named | 89.8 | 5 (4) | 5 | 6 | 11 | 14 / 16 |
| 7 | Huntington$284 billion · platform named | 87 | 5 (5) | 4 | 5 | 10 | 14 / 17 |
| 8 | Goldman$752 billion · platform named | 86 | 5 (2) | 3 | 5 | 10 | 16 / 18 |
| 9 | Wells Fargo$1.85 trillion · platform named | 85.8 | 5 (4) | 4 | 6 | 8 | 14 / 18 |
| 10 | Regions$159 billion · platform named | 85.3 | 5 (4) | 6 | 5 | 9 | 14 / 17 |
| 11 | HSBC$168 billion · platform named | 83.7 | 5 (2) | 6 | 5 | 11 | 12 / 13 |
| 12 | BMO$252 billion · platform named | 83.5 | 6 (4) | 4 | 5 | 10 | 10 / 17 |
| 13 | Citizens$227 billion · platform named | 82.5 | 6 (5) | 4 | 6 | 9 | 10 / 15 |
| 14 | M&T$214 billion · platform named | 82.2 | 6 (5) | 5 | 5 | 11 | 9 / 14 |
| 15 | Flagstar$87 billion · platform named | 79.8 | 5 (4) | 4 | 5 | 9 | 11 / 15 |
| 16 | Axos Bank$30 billion · platform named | 78 | 6 (5) | 7 | 6 | 13 | 4 / 20 |
| 17 | Capital One$672 billion · platform named | 76.8 | 6 (6) | 3 | 5 | 9 | 8 / 18 |
| 18 | Ally$186 billion · platform named | 76.5 | 5 (4) | 6 | 5 | 7 | 11 / 15 |
| 19 | Amex$218 billion · platform named | 76.3 | 6 (5) | 2 | 4 | 10 | 9 / 21 |
| 20 | KeyBank$186 billion · platform named | 76.2 | 5 (3) | 4 | 5 | 8 | 10 / 14 |
| 21 | First Horizon$84 billion · platform named | 73.5 | 5 (2) | 6 | 5 | 10 | 7 / 11 |
| 22 | UBS$122 billion · platform named | 72.7 | 5 (3) | 4 | 4 | 9 | 8 / 13 |
| 23 | Northern Trust$174 billion · platform named | 72.5 | 4 (2) | 6 | 4 | 8 | 9 / 18 |
| 24 | Pinnacle$123 billion · platform named | 72.5 | 4 (4) | 6 | 4 | 8 | 10 / 15 |
| 25 | First Citizens$236 billion · platform named | 71.2 | 5 (3) | 3 | 4 | 9 | 8 / 15 |
| 26 | U.S. Bank$683 billion · platform named | 71 | 5 (5) | 3 | 3 | 9 | 9 / 15 |
| 27 | City National$100 billion · platform named | 71 | 4 (1) | 5 | 4 | 8 | 9 / 15 |
| 28 | Schwab$517 billion · platform named | 70.8 | 6 (5) | 6 | 8 | 8 | 5 / 10 |
| 29 | SoFi$50 billion · platform named | 70.3 | 6 (4) | 3 | 7 | 8 | 6 / 11 |
| 30 | Zions$88 billion · platform named | 69.8 | 5 (3) | 6 | 6 | 8 | 7 / 7 |
| 31 | Western Alliance$99 billion · platform named | 69.7 | 4 (4) | 4 | 4 | 6 | 10 / 16 |
| 32 | Valley$64 billion · platform named | 69.7 | 5 (4) | 5 | 6 | 7 | 7 / 10 |
| 33 | Webster$86 billion · platform named | 69.2 | 4 (3) | 5 | 4 | 9 | 7 / 14 |
| 34 | BofA$2.67 trillion · platform named | 68.3 | 5 (4) | 3 | 6 | 8 | 5 / 18 |
| 35 | CIBC$65 billion · platform named | 67.8 | 6 (5) | 5 | 4 | 7 | 5 / 14 |
| 36 | State Street$387 billion · platform named | 67 | 4 (3) | 4 | 5 | 7 | 7 / 13 |
| 37 | Atlantic Union$37 billion · platform named | 66 | 4 (3) | 5 | 6 | 6 | 7 / 11 |
| 38 | Old National$73 billion · platform named | 64 | 4 (3) | 5 | 5 | 7 | 5 / 13 |
| 39 | SouthState$68 billion · platform named | 63.8 | 5 (4) | 5 | 5 | 6 | 5 / 11 |
| 40 | Truist$541 billion · platform named | 63.3 | 5 (3) | 4 | 4 | 7 | 5 / 10 |
| 41 | Morgan Stanley$391 billion · platform named | 62.7 | 5 (3) | 3 | 5 | 5 | 7 / 11 |
| 42 | Frost$53 billion · platform named | 62.2 | 4 (2) | 5 | 6 | 7 | 4 / 9 |
| 43 | PNC$568 billion · platform named | 61.5 | 5 (2) | 3 | 3 | 6 | 7 / 12 |
| 44 | FNB$50 billion · platform named | 60.5 | 5 (2) | 5 | 6 | 6 | 3 / 7 |
| 45 | Barclays US$47 billion · platform named | 59.8 | 5 (4) | 4 | 4 | 7 | 4 / 6 |
| 46 | Associated$46 billion · platform named | 58.8 | 4 (2) | 5 | 4 | 7 | 4 / 9 |
| 47 | FNBO$35 billion · platform named | 58.3 | 4 (4) | 4 | 5 | 6 | 4 / 8 |
| 48 | Prosperity$44 billion · platform named | 56.7 | 2 (1) | 4 | 5 | 8 | 4 / 8 |
| 49 | UMB$72 billion · platform named | 55.7 | 3 (3) | 4 | 4 | 6 | 5 / 8 |
| 50 | Raymond James$46 billion · platform named | 55.7 | 5 (5) | 5 | 5 | 5 | 2 / 7 |
| 51 | Deutsche Bank$40 billion · platform named | 55.2 | 6 (2) | 6 | 7 | 4 | 0 / 7 |
| 52 | East West$82 billion · platform named | 55 | 3 (3) | 3 | 5 | 7 | 3 / 11 |
| 53 | Customers Bank$26 billion · platform named | 53.7 | 5 (3) | 2 | 5 | 5 | 4 / 7 |
| 54 | Columbia$66 billion · platform named | 53 | 3 (3) | 3 | 5 | 7 | 3 / 7 |
| 55 | Optum Bank$21 billion · platform named | 51.2 | 4 (2) | 3 | 4 | 6 | 2 / 8 |
| 56 | Commerce$36 billion · platform named | 51 | 4 (2) | 3 | 5 | 4 | 3 / 8 |
| 57 | Texas Capital$33 billion · platform named | 50.3 | 4 (2) | 2 | 3 | 8 | 2 / 8 |
| 58 | First Interstate$26 billion · platform named | 48.7 | 4 (1) | 2 | 4 | 6 | 3 / 5 |
| 59 | Sallie Mae$29 billion · platform named | 48 | 4 (3) | 4 | 4 | 5 | 0 / 6 |
| 60 | WaFd Bank$28 billion · platform named | 47 | 4 (2) | 4 | 4 | 5 | 0 / 4 |
| 61 | Arvest$28 billion · platform named | 46.3 | 4 (3) | 4 | 3 | 5 | 0 / 6 |
| 62 | TowneBank$22 billion · platform named | 46.3 | 3 (2) | 4 | 4 | 4 | 2 / 5 |
| 63 | Community Bank N.A.$17 billion · platform named | 44.7 | 4 (3) | 2 | 4 | 3 | 3 / 7 |
| 64 | Seacoast Bank$21 billion · platform named | 44.5 | 4 (4) | 3 | 4 | 2 | 2 / 8 |
| 65 | Banner Bank$16 billion · platform named | 43.8 | 3 (1) | 3 | 4 | 4 | 1 / 8 |
| 66 | Busey Bank$18 billion · platform named | 43.2 | 3 (2) | 3 | 4 | 3 | 2 / 7 |
| 67 | BOK Financial$53 billion | 42.7 | 3 (2) | 3 | 4 | 6 | 4 / 10 |
| 68 | Enterprise Bank & Trust$17 billion · platform named | 42.7 | 4 (3) | 1 | 4 | 6 | 0 / 7 |
| 69 | Central Bank$20 billion · platform named | 41.7 | 3 (2) | 1 | 5 | 5 | 1 / 7 |
| 70 | Rockland Trust$25 billion · platform named | 41 | 3 (1) | 2 | 4 | 5 | 1 / 4 |
| 71 | Eastern Bank$31 billion | 40.2 | 4 (4) | 3 | 4 | 6 | 1 / 9 |
| 72 | Stifel Bank$20 billion · platform named | 39.2 | 3 (3) | 1 | 4 | 6 | 0 / 5 |
| 73 | Ameris$28 billion | 35.5 | 4 (3) | 3 | 4 | 5 | 0 / 6 |
| 74 | Bank of Hawaii$24 billion | 35.5 | 4 (4) | 3 | 4 | 5 | 0 / 6 |
| 75 | First Hawaiian$24 billion | 34.3 | 4 (2) | 2 | 4 | 4 | 2 / 6 |
| 76 | ServisFirst Bank$18 billion | 33.5 | 2 (1) | 3 | 4 | 5 | 2 / 6 |
| 77 | Beacon Bank$22 billion | 32.8 | 3 (1) | 3 | 4 | 4 | 1 / 6 |
| 78 | United Community$28 billion | 32.7 | 4 (2) | 1 | 4 | 6 | 0 / 7 |
| 79 | EverBank$47 billion · no programme disclosed | 30 | 2 (0) | 3 | 5 | 5 | 4 / 7 |
| 80 | Bank OZK$42 billion · no programme disclosed | 30 | 2 (1) | 5 | 5 | 7 | 0 / 8 |
| 81 | Hancock Whitney$36 billion · platform named · no programme disclosed | 30 | 3 (1) | 3 | 5 | 8 | 3 / 10 |
| 82 | BankUnited$35 billion · no programme disclosed | 30 | 3 (2) | 2 | 5 | 5 | 0 / 9 |
| 83 | Banc of California$35 billion · platform named · no programme disclosed | 30 | 3 (2) | 2 | 5 | 4 | 1 / 7 |
| 84 | Fulton$32 billion · no programme disclosed | 30 | 3 (3) | 1 | 4 | 5 | 1 / 9 |
| 85 | Glacier$32 billion · no programme disclosed | 30 | 3 (2) | 2 | 5 | 3 | 2 / 7 |
| 86 | WesBanco$27 billion · no programme disclosed | 30 | 3 (3) | 2 | 4 | 5 | 0 / 8 |
| 87 | Simmons Bank$25 billion · no programme disclosed | 30 | 3 (2) | 4 | 3 | 4 | 2 / 7 |
| 88 | Cathay Bank$24 billion · no programme disclosed | 30 | 3 (2) | 2 | 4 | 5 | 0 / 5 |
| 89 | Centennial Bank$23 billion · no programme disclosed | 30 | 2 (0) | 3 | 4 | 6 | 3 / 5 |
| 90 | First Financial Bank$23 billion · no programme disclosed | 30 | 3 (2) | 2 | 4 | 4 | 3 / 5 |
| 91 | Mechanics Bank$21 billion · no programme disclosed | 30 | 3 (2) | 3 | 4 | 3 | 1 / 5 |
| 92 | First Merchants$21 billion · no programme disclosed | 30 | 3 (2) | 4 | 4 | 6 | 1 / 7 |
| 93 | Merchants Bank of Indiana$20 billion · no programme disclosed | 30 | 4 (3) | 2 | 4 | 4 | 1 / 5 |
| 94 | Trustmark$19 billion · no programme disclosed | 30 | 2 (1) | 3 | 4 | 5 | 2 / 4 |
| 95 | FirstBank$16 billion · no programme disclosed | 30 | 3 (2) | 2 | 4 | 3 | 3 / 7 |
| 96 | United Bank$34 billion · no programme disclosed | 28.7 | 2 (1) | 3 | 3 | 4 | 0 / 9 |
| 97 | Bank of Hope$19 billion · no programme disclosed | 28.3 | 2 (1) | 3 | 4 | 4 | 0 / 5 |
| 98 | First United Bank$16 billion · no programme disclosed | 28.2 | 3 (3) | 2 | 3 | 4 | 1 / 5 |
| 99 | City National Florida$29 billion | 26.5 | 3 (2) | 2 | 2 | 4 | 1 / 5 |
| 100 | Renasant$27 billion · no programme disclosed | 24.2 | 3 (3) | 1 | 4 | 3 | 0 / 5 |
Use cases: described, with the number in production in brackets. Moves: dated entries since Sep 10, 2025. Sources: independent reporting / all sources on the bank's page.
How is the AI disclosure score calculated?
Every point comes from a sourced fact on the bank's page, and the components with real spread across banks carry the weight. Out of 100: independent coverage, meaning sources that are neither the bank's own releases, filings and job postings nor wire or aggregator copies of them, 2 each up to 30; the bank's own material, 0.5 each up to 5; dated moves since Sep 10, 2025, up to 20; breadth of use cases, 2.5 each up to 15; a named AI platform or programme, 10; named AI or technology leaders, 2.5 each up to 10; disclosed numbers (spend, headcount, volumes, adoption), up to 10. A bank whose page records that it has not disclosed an AI programme, leader, vendor or budget is capped at 30. Ties are broken by assets.
The score rewards a bank for saying what it does and for being reported on by others, which is what the pages exist to record. Independent coverage carries the most weight because a page built from a bank's own newsroom and job postings can be the longest on the site without the outside world having noticed; that is also why a bank with a strong programme but a page that leans on its own releases sits lower than its reputation. The score does not attempt to judge how well a programme works, and it under-rates banks that build quietly. Use it as a map of where the public record is deep, then read the page. The ranking recomputes whenever a bank page is updated; the last update was Sep 10, 2026.
Which US banks are furthest ahead on AI?
By the depth of the public record, the top ten are JPMorgan, TD, Fifth Third, BNY, Citi, Santander, Huntington, Goldman, Wells Fargo, Regions. Each has been reported on widely by independent outlets, named an AI platform, described several use cases, named the people running the programme, disclosed numbers about it and made a run of dated moves in the last twelve months. JPMorgan Chase leads with 94.5 of 100 points.
What does this ranking measure?
Disclosure, not capability. Every point comes from something the bank or a tier-1 source has put on the record and that the bank's page on this site cites. Out of 100: up to 30 for independent coverage (sources that are not the bank's own releases, filings or job postings, nor wire copies of them), up to 5 for the bank's own material, up to 20 for dated moves since Sep 10, 2025, up to 15 for the breadth of use cases, 10 for a named platform or programme, up to 10 for named AI leaders and up to 10 for disclosed numbers. A bank whose page records that it has disclosed no AI programme is capped at 30. A bank that runs a large programme and says little scores low.
How many of the 100 largest US banks have disclosed an AI programme?
79 of 100, and 72 of those have named the platform or programme. 21 of the 100 have not disclosed an AI programme, leader, vendor or budget; their pages record what is known instead, usually customer education, fraud guidance or a core-banking conversion. The details, with sources, are on each bank's page.
When any of these banks moves on AI, you'll read it the next morning.
the daily brief · six sourced stories · in your inbox by 7 am ET · free
plus every tracker, bank and agent page update, the morning after · leave any morning