Banks · leaders · AI

Which large banks are the leaders in AI? (2026 ranking)

Data as of Oct 6, 2026 · 140 banks profiled · 123 with evidence · 75 sources cited · page updated Oct 15, 2026

On the public record, the large banks leading in AI in 2026 are BofA, TD, Citi, Amex and Commonwealth Bank: BofA scores 95.9 / 100 with 16 of 18 described AI use cases in production and a named platform, Erica (and EricaAssist); TD scores 91.1 / 100 with 13 of 18 described AI use cases in production and a named platform, Layer 6 and TD AI Prism; Citi scores 89.3 / 100 with 15 of 20 described AI use cases in production and a named platform, Citi Stylus Workspaces; Amex scores 89.2 / 100 with 11 of 22 described AI use cases in production and a named platform, Agentic Commerce Experiences (ACE) and Amex Agent Purchase Protection; Commonwealth Bank scores 88.9 / 100 with 16 of 20 described AI use cases in production and a named platform, AI Factory, Customer Engagement Engine and CommBank Companion. The score is the AI-index formula (independent coverage, use cases in production, a named platform, own disclosures, recent moves, numbers and leaders) applied to all 140 profiled banks; 98 of the 123 that disclose an AI programme have named a platform.

Data as of Oct 6, 2026 · 140 banks profiled (120 US, 20 non-US) · 123 with evidence on this topic · 75 sources cited below · ranked answer, not a comparison · Which large US banks lead in AI and technology? (AI index)

How do the large banks rank on AI?

The 25 highest of the 123 banks that disclose an AI programme, scored with the AI-index formula across all 140 profiles. Columns: score (and the bank's rank on the US-only index), AI use cases in production of those described, the named platform, and independent reporting against all sources on the bank's page.

#BankScore (US index rank)Use cases in production / describedNamed AI platformIndependent / all sourcesStatusDateSources
1BofA95.9 / 100 (US index #1 of 120)16 of 18Erica (and EricaAssist)37 / 68In productionOct 13, 2026Bank of America Newsroom ↗ · Bank of America Newsroom ↗ · American Banker ↗
2TD91.1 / 100 (US index #2 of 120)13 of 18Layer 6 and TD AI Prism27 / 55In productionOct 13, 2026TD Bank Group ↗ · TD Bank Group ↗ · TD Bank Group ↗
3Citi89.3 / 100 (US index #4 of 120)15 of 20Citi Stylus Workspaces42 / 59In productionOct 1, 2026The Wall Street Journal ↗ · Citigroup ↗ · American Banker ↗
4Amex89.2 / 100 (US index #3 of 120)11 of 22Agentic Commerce Experiences (ACE) and Amex Agent Purchase Protection29 / 64In productionOct 13, 2026American Express via FT Markets ↗ · American Express via FT Markets ↗ · American Banker ↗
5Commonwealth Bank88.9 / 100 (non-US group, outside the US index)16 of 20AI Factory, Customer Engagement Engine and CommBank Companion20 / 54In productionOct 14, 2026Commonwealth Bank of Australia ↗ · Commonwealth Bank of Australia ↗ · OpenAI ↗
6HSBC88.3 / 100 (non-US group, outside the US index)9 of 21HSBC Productivity Suite and the central AI platform26 / 64In productionOct 9, 2026HSBC Holdings plc ↗ · HSBC Holdings plc ↗ · HSBC Holdings plc ↗
7Wells Fargo88.0 / 100 (US index #6 of 120)13 of 16Fargo and the Google Cloud agent stack32 / 56In productionOct 13, 2026Wells Fargo ↗ · VentureBeat ↗ · American Banker ↗
8BNY87.9 / 100 (US index #5 of 120)12 of 14Eliza28 / 56In productionOct 1, 2026BNY ↗ · BNY ↗ · The Wall Street Journal ↗
9DBS86.1 / 100 (non-US group, outside the US index)11 of 17ADA, DBS-GPT and the agent control plane29 / 49In productionOct 12, 2026DBS Group Holdings ↗ · DBS Group Holdings (reprint of a Business Times interview) ↗ · Computer Weekly ↗
10JPMorgan84.8 / 100 (US index #8 of 120)7 of 13LLM Suite39 / 67In productionOct 13, 2026American Banker ↗ · American Banker ↗ · CNBC ↗
11Santander US84.2 / 100 (US index #7 of 120)10 of 15ONE Transformation: shared platforms, AI for every employee, agentic commerce24 / 47In productionOct 1, 2026Bloomberg ↗ · PYMNTS ↗ · PYMNTS ↗
12Citizens83.6 / 100 (US index #9 of 120)10 of 20CiZi and the cloud-native core25 / 50In productionSep 29, 2026American Banker ↗ · American Banker ↗ · Citizens (Business Wire via Yahoo Finance) ↗
13Lloyds83.0 / 100 (non-US group, outside the US index)11 of 19Envoy agent platform, Microsoft 365 E7 and the Group LLM platform19 / 45In productionAug 20, 2026Lloyds Banking Group ↗ · Lloyds Banking Group ↗ · Lloyds Banking Group ↗
14Regions82.0 / 100 (US index #13 of 120)13 of 15AI-driven banker platforms on a modernised stack22 / 44In productionOct 6, 2026PYMNTS ↗ · American Banker ↗ · ABA Banking Journal ↗
15BMO81.9 / 100 (US index #10 of 120)14 of 16Lumi, Aura and the Institute for Applied AI & Quantum16 / 50In productionOct 6, 2026BMO ↗ · BMO AI Hub ↗ · BMO ↗
16Raymond James81.8 / 100 (US index #11 of 120)14 of 16Rai, AI Search and the advisor desktop19 / 46In productionSep 22, 2026Raymond James ↗ · GlobeNewswire via FT Markets ↗ · Raymond James ↗
17Huntington81.5 / 100 (US index #12 of 120)15 of 17Agentic process transformation, run from finance19 / 47In productionSep 29, 2026Fortune ↗ · American Banker ↗ · The Wall Street Journal (Deloitte CFO Journal) ↗
18Standard Chartered81.4 / 100 (non-US group, outside the US index)12 of 16AI Factory and the single enterprise AI platform (with SC GPT)19 / 50In productionSep 8, 2026Standard Chartered PLC ↗ · Standard Chartered PLC ↗ · Standard Chartered PLC ↗
19Fifth Third79.8 / 100 (US index #15 of 120)10 of 13Jeanie and the Newline MCP server25 / 47In productionOct 12, 2026Fifth Third ↗ · Fifth Third via FT Markets ↗ · Fifth Third (Business Wire via Yahoo Finance) ↗
20RBC79.6 / 100 (non-US group, outside the US index)11 of 15Lumina, ATOM and RBC Assist18 / 46In productionOct 8, 2026Royal Bank of Canada (CNW via Yahoo Finance) ↗ · Royal Bank of Canada (CNW via Yahoo Finance) ↗ · Royal Bank of Canada ↗
21Deutsche Bank79.1 / 100 (non-US group, outside the US index)10 of 17dbLumina and the Technology, Data and Innovation AI platform on Google Cloud15 / 50In productionOct 13, 2026Deutsche Bank ↗ · Finextra ↗ · Deutsche Bank ↗
22Truist79.0 / 100 (US index #14 of 120)13 of 15Truist Insights and the 'digital teammates'18 / 41In productionSep 18, 2026Truist via FT Markets ↗ · American Banker ↗ · American Banker ↗
23Goldman78.9 / 100 (US index #21 of 120)7 of 13GS AI Platform and GS AI Assistant39 / 62In productionOct 13, 2026American Banker ↗ · American Banker ↗ · Investing.com ↗
24HSBC USA78.3 / 100 (US index #16 of 120)7 of 16The group AI programme: Google Cloud, Mistral and a central model platform18 / 53In productionOct 9, 2026Banking Dive ↗ · Banking Dive ↗ · Bloomberg ↗
25KeyBank78.0 / 100 (US index #19 of 120)10 of 16Conversational AI in the contact centre and 'cognitive banking' in the app25 / 48In productionOct 1, 2026PYMNTS ↗ · Banking Dive ↗ · American Banker ↗

Each row quotes the bank's page on this site; the bank link opens the full record with every source. “Not disclosed” means the page records nothing on that point. Banks absent from the table have no evidence on this topic on their page.

Which banks lead in AI within each size tier?

The same ranking read within four tiers: US banks over $500bn in assets, $100bn to $500bn, under $100bn, and the non-US groups. Tier by Federal Reserve consolidated assets; non-US groups report in their own currency and are not size-ranked.

TierOverall rankBankScore · in production · platform
US banks over $500bn#1BofA95.9 / 100 · 16 of 18 · Erica (and EricaAssist)
US banks over $500bn#3Citi89.3 / 100 · 15 of 20 · Citi Stylus Workspaces
US banks over $500bn#7Wells Fargo88.0 / 100 · 13 of 16 · Fargo and the Google Cloud agent stack
US banks over $500bn#10JPMorgan84.8 / 100 · 7 of 13 · LLM Suite
US banks, $100bn to $500bn#2TD91.1 / 100 · 13 of 18 · Layer 6 and TD AI Prism
US banks, $100bn to $500bn#4Amex89.2 / 100 · 11 of 22 · Agentic Commerce Experiences (ACE) and Amex Agent Purchase Protection
US banks, $100bn to $500bn#8BNY87.9 / 100 · 12 of 14 · Eliza
US banks, $100bn to $500bn#11Santander US84.2 / 100 · 10 of 15 · ONE Transformation: shared platforms, AI for every employee, agentic commerce
US banks under $100bn#16Raymond James81.8 / 100 · 14 of 16 · Rai, AI Search and the advisor desktop
Non-US banking groups#5Commonwealth Bank88.9 / 100 · 16 of 20 · AI Factory, Customer Engagement Engine and CommBank Companion
Non-US banking groups#6HSBC88.3 / 100 · 9 of 21 · HSBC Productivity Suite and the central AI platform
Non-US banking groups#9DBS86.1 / 100 · 11 of 17 · ADA, DBS-GPT and the agent control plane
Non-US banking groups#13Lloyds83.0 / 100 · 11 of 19 · Envoy agent platform, Microsoft 365 E7 and the Group LLM platform

How is this ranking computed?

Score: the eight-component AI-index formula of /banks/ai-index (independent coverage 45%, use cases in production 10%, a named platform 10%, own primary disclosures 10%, dated moves in the last twelve months 10%, disclosed numbers 5%, named leaders 5%, use cases described 5%), with each component as the bank's percentile rank among all 140 profiled banks rather than the 120 US banks. The US index rank is shown for reference and can differ by a few places.

Banks whose page records that they have disclosed no AI programme are excluded. Ties: assets, then name. Date: the latest dated move on the bank's page.

What are the caveats?

The score measures the depth of the public record, not capability: a bank that builds quietly ranks below one that publishes. Independent coverage carries the most weight, so a bank covered widely by the trade press rises even when its own disclosures are short.

Use-case counts are of distinct systems described on the bank's page, each with a source; a bank may run more than it has described.

How does this differ from the AI index?

The AI index ranks the 120 US banks only; this page applies the same formula to all 140 profiles, including the 20 non-US groups, and shows production use cases and the named platform beside the score. The AI index and its method are on their own page; the technology leaders and generative AI guides are hand-written cross-bank tables with their own sourcing.

Which bank is the leader in AI?

Bank of America leads this ranking with 95.9 / 100: 16 of 18 described AI use cases in production, a named platform (Erica (and EricaAssist)) and 37 / 68 independent sources among all sources on its page. On Evident's capability-based AI index, JPMorgan Chase and Capital One led in October 2025.

How many large banks have an AI programme on the record?

123 of the 140 profiled banks disclose an AI programme; 98 of those have named an in-house platform or programme. 17 have not disclosed an AI programme, leader, vendor or budget.

Does the ranking measure capability or disclosure?

Disclosure. Every input is a sourced fact on the bank's page on this site: what the bank has said and what independent outlets have reported. It does not measure model quality, return on investment or the size of the programme.

Why does a bank's rank here differ from its rank on the AI index page?

The formula is the same, but the peer group is all 140 profiles rather than the 120 US banks, so each percentile shifts slightly. The US rank is shown in the first column.

Which non-US banks lead in AI?

Among the 20 non-US groups profiled, the highest in this ranking are Commonwealth Bank, HSBC and DBS; see the tier table.

How often is the ranking updated?

It recomputes whenever a bank page is updated; the data date is Oct 6, 2026. Bank pages are refreshed on a biweekly routine.

When any of these banks moves on AI, you'll read it the next morning.

when one of the banks we cover moves on AI, it is in the next morning's brief · six sourced stories · 7 am ET · free

plus every tracker, bank and agent page update, the morning after · leave any morning