A construction and commercial real estate lender that meets AI mainly as tenant demand for the buildings it finances; its only named AI project, co-developing agents on Fiserv's agentOS, was disclosed by the vendor, not the bank.
How is Bank OZK using AI?
Bank OZK, the $41.7 billion Little Rock bank that operates without a holding company and files its reports with the FDIC, has not disclosed an AI leader or AI spending of its own; the AI on its record is its role co-developing Fiserv's agentOS agents. Two items qualify that: its core provider Fiserv named Bank OZK in May 2026 as one of four banks co-developing the next wave of AI agents on Fiserv's agentOS platform, with deployments due to begin that summer, and the bank's 2025 annual report on Form 10-K says it continues to focus on 'the evolving role and importance of technology, including artificial intelligence', adding a risk factor on AI that covers opaque algorithms, bias, explainability and reliance on third-party models. Otherwise, where AI appears in its public record is on the other side of the balance sheet: as demand for the office and life-science projects its Real Estate Specialties Group finances. On the first-quarter 2026 call management said that 'the AI boom is generating opportunities for our life science product' in the Bay Area, that two projects were 'in serious contention' for tech and AI tenants, and that sponsors were tracking demand from 'clinical research, big pharma, tech, AI, even defense'. That is the AI exposure of a bank whose RESG originations reached $1.61 billion in the fourth quarter of 2025 and whose chairman and CEO, George Gleason, has led it since 1979. The credit cycle, not technology, dominates its disclosure: net charge-offs in commercial real estate jumped in late 2025, the allowance for credit losses has doubled over three years, and Gleason told analysts in January 2026 that the downturn was 'pretty near the end'. Results remain strong for its size: record full-year 2025 earnings per share of $6.18, net income to common of $699.3 million for 2025 and $159.3 million in the first quarter of 2026. Its four-quarter transcripts and management comments contain no reference to AI, machine learning or automation in the bank's own operations, and in August 2026 U.S. Bank named a banker who had most recently worked at Bank OZK to lead its Florida business-banking expansion. Treat this page as a thin record for an FDIC-supervised bank whose AI story is a lending-demand story.
Lead bank
Bank OZK
Assets (lead bank, Mar 31, 2026)
$42 billion
Charter
Arkansas state nonmember bank (FDIC); the bank is the public company, with no holding company
Headquarters
Little Rock, AR
AI leadership
George Gleason · Brannon Hamblen · Cindy Wolfe · Tim Hicks · Jake Munn · Jason Cathey
- No AI leader or spend disclosed by the bank itself; its earnings calls from Q3 2025 to Q2 2026 do not mention AI in its own operations.
- Fiserv agentOS: Bank OZK is one of four banks co-developing the next wave of Fiserv's AI agents (announced May 14, 2026), with deployments set to begin in summer 2026.
- The 2025 10-K names AI as a focus area and includes an AI risk factor: opaque algorithms and datasets, bias, explainability duties under banking rules, and dependence on third-party models.
- AI appears as tenant demand: Bay Area life-science and office projects with 'tech AI-type users' in contention, per the first-quarter 2026 call; the CEO pointed to AI demand in Silicon Valley in January 2026 and to AI and technology tenants again in July 2026.
- Signature business is construction and CRE lending through the Real Estate Specialties Group; $1.61 billion originated in Q4 2025.
- Credit cycle is the disclosure focus: CRE charge-offs spiked in Q4 2025, the allowance doubled over three years, recovery about a year away, as American Banker summarised the CEO's view.
- Record 2025: EPS $6.18, net income to common $699.3 million; Q1 2026 net income to common $159.3 million.
- Structure: a state nonmember bank with no holding company, reporting to the FDIC rather than the SEC; 268 offices in nine states.
What has Bank OZK done on AI, and when?
- Aug 31, 2026
U.S. Bank hires from Bank OZK for its Sun Belt push[2]
Erhen McGeehan, most recently at Bank OZK, leads U.S. Bank's Florida business-banking expansion; Laura Chapa also joined from OZK as a business banking sales manager in Dallas.
- Jul 22, 2026
Second-quarter call: AI and technology tenants still leasing[9]
Management said life-science lending remained challenging but leasing activity included AI and technology tenants.
- May 18, 2026
Annual meeting[12]
Thirteen directors elected; equity plan amended.
- May 14, 2026
- Apr 22, 2026
'The AI boom is generating opportunities' for life-science lending[7]
Two Bay Area projects in contention for tech and AI tenants.
- Apr 21, 2026
First-quarter 2026 results[6]
Net income to common $159.3 million; $41.7 billion of assets.
- Feb 25, 2026
2025 10-K includes an AI risk factor[8]
The bank lists technology 'including artificial intelligence' as a strategic focus and warns of limited visibility into algorithms and datasets, bias, explainability and reliance on third-party AI models.
- Jan 21, 2026
CEO: AI 'driving a lot of demand' in Silicon Valley[5]
Gleason told analysts that prospective AI users were touring the bank's Bay Area life-science projects and the environment was 'getting more constructive in a noticeable way'.
- Jan 21, 2026
- Jan 20, 2026
Fourth-quarter and full-year 2025 results[4]
Full-year EPS a record $6.18; net income to common $699.3 million.
- Oct 16, 2025
Record third-quarter 2025 earnings[3]
Net income to common $180.5 million.
Where does Bank OZK use AI today?
| System | What it does | Status | Use case |
|---|---|---|---|
| AI-driven tenant demand in CRE lending[7] | Life-science and office projects financed on the strength of tech and AI tenant interest. | In production | Credit scoring & underwriting |
| Co-developing AI agents on Fiserv agentOS[10][11] | One of four banks building the next wave of agents with its core provider; deployments were due to begin in summer 2026. Disclosed by Fiserv, not by the bank. | Announced | Generative & agentic AI |
| AI risk-factor disclosure[8] | The 2025 10-K covers AI used by the bank or its vendors to improve service and automate business decisions or risk management, uncertain AI law, opaque models, bias, explainability and third-party training data. | In production | Model risk management |
| No disclosed internal AI use[5][6] | Transcripts and releases contain no operational AI, automation or model references. | Announced | AI governance (general) |
Use-case links open the tracker's rules-by-use-case matrix: which documents govern each system type.
Which AI vendors and fintechs does Bank OZK work with?
| Company | What Bank OZK uses it for | Status | Category |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fiserv | Co-developing the next wave of agentOS agents | Announced | Banking platforms |
Each vendor and fintech page cites the source for the relationship, and vendor pages list products, pricing and other bank customers. Compare AI tools for banks by category, or read the fintech and neobank AI dossiers.
What has Bank OZK disclosed in numbers?
| Metric | Value | As of |
|---|---|---|
| Total assets | $41.7 billion[6] | Mar 31, 2026 |
| First-quarter 2026 net income to common | $159.3 million[6] | Apr 21, 2026 |
| Full-year 2025 EPS / net income to common | $6.18 (record) / $699.3 million[4] | Jan 20, 2026 |
| RESG originations, Q4 2025 | $1.61 billion[1] | Jan 21, 2026 |
| Offices / states | 268 / 9[6] | Mar 31, 2026 |
“The AI boom is generating opportunities for our life science product, which as we've noted, is flexible to go life science or go more traditional office.”[7]
Brannon Hamblen · President · Apr 22, 2026
“We're well positioned to get through the rest of the cycle in good form.”[1]
George Gleason · Chairman and CEO · Jan 21, 2026
Who runs AI at Bank OZK?
Brannon Hamblen
President[5]
Cindy WolfeLinkedIn ↗
Chief Operating Officer[5]
Tim HicksLinkedIn ↗
Chief Financial Officer[5]
Jake Munn
President, Corporate and Institutional Banking[5]
Jason CatheyLinkedIn ↗
Chief Information Officer (since 2022; reports to the CEO)[8]
What AI roles is Bank OZK hiring for?
No open AI-titled postings on Bank OZK's careers site as of Sep 24, 2026. A snapshot of current openings, not a source: postings close.
Which regulators govern Bank OZK's AI?
| Authority | Why it matters here | Documents |
|---|---|---|
| FDIC | Bank OZK is a state nonmember bank with no holding company; the FDIC is its primary federal supervisor and its securities regulator. | FDIC FIL-29-2023 FDIC FIL-15-2026 |
| Federal Reserve | Interagency model-risk and third-party guidance still frame any future AI in underwriting or servicing. | SR 11-7 SR 23-4 |
| CFPB | Consumer deposit and lending products bring UDAAP and adverse-action duties to any automated decisioning. | ECOA / Regulation B adverse action (15 U.S.C. 1691(d); 12 CFR 1002.9) |
Side by side: SR 11-7 vs SR 26-2 · PRA SS1/23 vs SR 26-2 · OCC vs CFPB on AI lending · all comparisons.
What does the public record suggest about Bank OZK's AI strategy?
Analysis by BankingNewsAI from the sources cited on this page. Observations, not advice.
01
AI is a concentration risk here before it is a tool
Financing buildings for AI tenants ties the CRE book to AI-sector demand; if that demand cools, the lending thesis, not a model, is what breaks.
02
A no-holding-company bank has one supervisor
Everything AI-related will be judged by the FDIC alone, which simplifies governance but concentrates examiner attention.
03
Silence on internal AI is unusual at this size
Peers of $40 billion have named at least a data or AI lead; OZK has not, which suggests either genuine absence or a deliberate choice not to disclose.
04
Watch the transcripts
The first mention of AI in operations would most likely come on an earnings call, given the bank's disclosure pattern.
Does Bank OZK use AI?
Bank OZK has not disclosed any AI programme, AI leader or AI spending of its own, and its recent earnings calls and management comments contain no reference to AI in its own operations. AI enters its record as tenant demand for the life-science and office projects it finances, which management discussed on the first-quarter 2026 call. Its core provider Fiserv said in May 2026 that Bank OZK is co-developing AI agents on Fiserv's agentOS platform, and its 2025 10-K names AI as a focus area and a risk factor.
Who regulates Bank OZK?
Bank OZK is an Arkansas state nonmember bank and has no holding company, so the FDIC is both its primary federal supervisor and the agency it files its annual and quarterly reports with. Interagency model-risk and third-party guidance apply, and consumer products fall under CFPB rules.
- Bank OZK says spike in charge-offs is no cause for alarm
- U.S. Bank's business banking expansion targets the Sun Belt
- Bank OZK Announces Record Third Quarter 2025 Earnings
- Bank OZK Announces Fourth Quarter and Full Year 2025 Earnings
- Transcript of the Fourth Quarter 2025 Conference Call
- Bank OZK Announces First Quarter 2026 Earnings
- Transcript of the First Quarter 2026 Conference Call
- Bank OZK 2025 Annual Report (including Annual Report on Form 10-K)
- Bank OZK (OZK) Q2 2026 Earnings Call Highlights: Strong CIB Growth and Strategic Buybacks
- Fiserv Launches agentOS: The Operating System for Agentic AI in Banking
- Fiserv has co-created AI agents with six banks and OpenAI
- Form 8-K: 2026 annual meeting vote results
When Bank OZK moves on AI, you'll read it here first.
when one of the banks we cover moves on AI, it is in the next morning's brief · six sourced stories · 7 am ET · free
plus every tracker, bank and agent page update, the morning after · leave any morning