What is Stripe doing in agentic commerce?
the Agentic Commerce Protocol, the AI apps it powers checkout for, and how agent payments are scoped and policed.

Last updated Oct 22, 2026 · 22 sources cited

What is Stripe doing in agentic commerce?

Stripe has positioned itself as the payment layer that AI apps use to sell. On September 29, 2025 it and OpenAI released the Agentic Commerce Protocol, an open standard, and Instant Checkout in ChatGPT launched for U.S. Etsy sellers with Stripe-powered checkout; OpenAI said merchants pay a small fee on completed purchases and remain the merchant of record. Stripe then added Microsoft's Copilot Checkout (January 2026), a native checkout in Facebook ads (March 2026), Google's AI Mode and Gemini app (April 2026) and Meta's Muse agent (September 2026). Its credential is the Shared Payment Token, which lets an agent pay without seeing the buyer's card; each token carries a maximum amount and an expiry, and since March 2026 it can carry Visa and Mastercard agentic network tokens and Affirm and Klarna. Link wallets for agents (April 2026) issue a one-time-use card per task. Stripe co-authored the Machine Payments Protocol with Tempo in March 2026 and a personal agent protocol with Meta, Walmart and Sierra in October 2026. On responsibility, Stripe's Services Agreement since September 28, 2026 makes users solely responsible for actions their AI agents take through Stripe. Stripe also told the CFPB in October 2025 that open banking rules will shape agentic commerce. President John Collison said in October 2026 that Stripe's agentic statistics only started rising sharply in September 2026; Stripe has published no agentic volumes.[1][2][3][4][5][6][7][8][9][10][11][12][13][14]

Data as of Oct 22, 2026 · Stripe profile updated Oct 22, 2026 · 22 sources cited on this page · 52 fintechs profiled on this site · Markdown

Which AI apps and agents use Stripe to check out, and since when?

AI surfaces and agent builders that have announced Stripe-powered purchasing, in date order.

SurfaceWhat shoppers can doMerchants or platforms namedDate
ChatGPT Instant CheckoutU.S. users buy single items in the chat; merchants pay OpenAI a small fee on completed purchases and stay merchant of recordU.S. Etsy sellers first; over a million Shopify merchants said to be comingSeptember 29, 2025[2][1]
Agentic Commerce SuiteOne low-code integration to sell across several AI agentsCoach, Kate Spade, URBN, Etsy, Wix, SquarespaceDecember 11, 2025[15]
Microsoft Copilot CheckoutU.S. Copilot users buy in the chat, with Stripe connecting to sellers over the Agentic Commerce ProtocolEtsy sellers, Urban OutfittersJanuary 8, 2026[3]
Facebook ads"Buy now" opens a native checkout powered by Stripe using the buyer's Meta wallet; the Agentic Commerce Protocol underpins the flowBusinesses opt in from the Stripe Dashboard; Fanatics quotedMarch 24, 2026[4]
Google AI Mode and Gemini appBusinesses sell to consumers inside Google's AI surfaces through the Agentic Commerce Suite, which is also coming to Wix, BigCommerce and WooCommerceKate Spade, Best Buy, Coach building with the SuiteApril 29, 2026[5]
GermanyBusinesses in Germany able to sell inside AI interfaces through the Agentic Commerce Suite beginning later in 2026German businessesJune 30, 2026[16]
Meta MuseMeta's personal AI agent checks out with Link at more than 1 million businesses that accept it and uses a single-use virtual card elsewhereMetaSeptember 8, 2026[6]
Constructor Agentic CheckoutShoppers or agents discover, ask about and buy products without leaving the agent conversation, paying with Link or other methodsConstructor's retail customers, worldwideOctober 5, 2026[17]

What credentials and protocols does Stripe give agents to pay with?

PrimitiveHow it worksDate
Shared Payment TokenThe agent grants the seller a token tied to the buyer's payment method, with usage limits such as currency, maximum amount and expiry; available in the U.S., Canada and select European countriesSince September 29, 2025 (documentation retrieved October 22, 2026)[7][1]
Network agentic tokens inside SPTsStripe provisions a Mastercard or Visa agentic network token scoped to the customer's intent; Stripe may use tokens from Mastercard Agent Pay, Visa Intelligent Commerce and American Express ACE KitMarch 3, 2026[8][18][7]
Machine Payments ProtocolOpen standard co-authored with Tempo for agents to pay per request in stablecoins or, via Shared Payment Tokens, in fiatMarch 18, 2026[10][19]
Link wallet for agentsAgents request a one-time-use card or a Shared Payment Token from a user's Link wallet; real card details are never exposed and the user approves each paymentApril 29, 2026[5][9]
Privy wallets for AWS AgentCorePrivy, a Stripe company, supplies wallet infrastructure and payment rails for AWS's AgentCore paymentsMay 7, 2026[20]
Personal agent protocolOpen standard, with Meta, Walmart and Sierra, to let businesses tell when a personal AI agent rather than a human is accessing them and see what it is doingOctober 6, 2026[11]

Who is responsible for agent purchases on Stripe, what has Stripe told regulators, and what is not disclosed?

Stripe's Services Agreement general terms, last modified September 28, 2026, added section 1.7 "AI Agent": a user is solely responsible for each action an AI agent initiates or completes through Stripe services, which Stripe treats as legally binding on the user. The change applies to new users immediately and to existing users from January 6, 2027 where it has a material effect.[12]

OpenAI's description of the Agentic Commerce Protocol keeps merchants as merchant of record "from fulfillment and returns to support and communication", and says merchants already on Stripe can enable agentic payments "in as little as one line of code".[2]

In a 22-page letter to the CFPB in October 2025, Stripe said the bureau's open banking decisions will affect the evolution of agentic AI commerce and whether stablecoins can reduce frictions, warning against innovation "asphyxiated by fees and other anti-competitive restrictions imposed by incumbents", per Payments Dive.[13]

Stripe is preparing defences against agent misuse: at Sessions 2026 it previewed Radar bot abuse prevention to tell legitimate AI agents from fraudulent actors and agent guardrails that assign identities and approval flows to agents.[21]

What is not disclosed: transaction counts or dollar volume through the Agentic Commerce Protocol, Shared Payment Tokens or Link for agents, how many merchants are live in each AI surface, and dispute or fraud rates on agent purchases. John Collison said in October 2026 that agentic statistics "went vertical" in September but gave no figures.[14][5]

What does the Stripe profile record on this topic?

The rows below are the entries of the Stripe AI strategy profile that bear on this page, as of Oct 22, 2026; the profile holds the full record of 18 dated moves, 10 use cases and 27 sources.

Use caseWhat the record showsStatusSource
Agentic Commerce Protocol and Instant CheckoutOpen standard co-developed with OpenAI that lets AI agents place orders with merchants; powers checkout in ChatGPT, Microsoft Copilot and Facebook.In production[1][3][4]
Agentic Commerce SuiteSingle integration for businesses to sell inside AI apps; being extended to Google AI Mode and the Gemini app, with some merchants 'coming soon'.Rolling out[15][5]
Link wallets for agentsConsumers let AI agents pay with Link; the agent gets a one-time-use card per task and each payment is approved by the user. Integrated into Meta's Muse agent in September 2026.In production[5][9][6]
AI Agent clause in the Services AgreementA September 28, 2026 update to Stripe's Services Agreement makes users solely responsible for actions an AI agent takes through Stripe services, treating those actions as legally binding electronic-agent actions.In production[12]
Third-party checkout agents built on StripeIndependent vendors build agentic shopping tools on Stripe's rails; Constructor's Agentic Checkout, launched October 5, 2026, lets shoppers buy without leaving an AI agent conversation using the Link by Stripe wallet.In production[17]
DateMoveDetailSource
Oct 13, 2026Collison: agentic commerce 'went vertical' in SeptemberOn his Cheeky Pint podcast, released October 13, 2026 and recorded with Meta's Mark Zuckerberg and Alexandr Wang, Stripe president John Collison said Stripe's agentic-commerce statistics only started rising sharply as of September 2026, following the May Sessions launches; he gave no specific figures.[14]
Oct 6, 2026Stripe co-publishes a 'personal agent protocol'Stripe joined Meta, Walmart and Sierra, the enterprise AI startup led by OpenAI chairman Bret Taylor, in publishing an open standard meant to let businesses tell when they are being accessed by a personal AI agent rather than a human, and see what the agent is doing on their platform.[11]
Oct 5, 2026Constructor launches Agentic Checkout powered by StripeConstructor, a retail product-discovery platform, integrated Stripe so shoppers (human or AI agent) can discover, ask questions about and buy products without leaving the agent conversation, paying via the Link by Stripe wallet or other methods; available worldwide.[17]
Sep 28, 2026Services Agreement adds an AI Agent clauseStripe's Services Agreement general terms, last modified September 28, 2026, added section 1.7 'AI Agent': a user is solely responsible for each action an AI agent initiates or completes through Stripe services, which Stripe treats as legally binding on the user; the change applies to new users immediately and to existing users from January 6, 2027 where it has a material effect.[12]
Sep 8, 2026Meta's Muse agent shops with Stripe's LinkMeta integrated Link's wallet for agents into Muse, its personal AI agent; at over 1 million businesses that accept Link, Muse can check out with the consumer's saved payment method, and elsewhere Link issues a single-use virtual card.[6]
Feb 24, 20262025 volume reaches $1.9 trillion; $159 billion tender offerBusinesses on Stripe generated $1.9 trillion in 2025, up 34%; the annual letter describes the Agentic Commerce Protocol, Agentic Commerce Suite, Shared Payment Tokens and machine payments, and a tender offer valued Stripe at $159 billion.[22]
Jan 8, 2026Stripe powers Copilot Checkout for MicrosoftUS Copilot users will be able to buy from Etsy sellers and retailers such as Urban Outfitters in the chat, with Stripe connecting to sellers over the Agentic Commerce Protocol.[3]
Dec 11, 2025Agentic Commerce Suite launchedA low-code product to let businesses sell across multiple AI agents through one integration, with Coach, Kate Spade, URBN, Etsy, Wix and Squarespace among the businesses and platforms that said they would use it.[15]
Sep 29, 2025Agentic Commerce Protocol and Instant Checkout in ChatGPTStripe and OpenAI released the Agentic Commerce Protocol, an open standard, and US ChatGPT users began buying from Etsy sellers in the chat with Stripe-powered checkout and Shared Payment Tokens.[1]

What is the Agentic Commerce Protocol?

An open standard Stripe co-developed with OpenAI and released on September 29, 2025, that defines how AI agents and businesses complete purchases. It launched with Instant Checkout in ChatGPT for U.S. Etsy sellers, and Stripe has since used it for Microsoft's Copilot Checkout and for checkout inside Facebook ads.

What is a Shared Payment Token?

Stripe's credential for agent payments: the agent grants a seller a token linked to the buyer's payment method without exposing the card number, limited by currency, maximum amount and expiry. Since March 2026 it can carry Visa and Mastercard agentic network tokens and Affirm and Klarna; it is available in the U.S., Canada and select European countries.

Who is liable if an AI agent buys something through Stripe?

Under Stripe's Services Agreement as modified on September 28, 2026, the Stripe user is solely responsible for each action an AI agent initiates or completes through Stripe services, and Stripe treats those actions as legally binding on the user. Stripe has not published how disputes over agent purchases are resolved in practice.

Which AI apps use Stripe for checkout?

Named on the record: OpenAI's ChatGPT (September 2025), Microsoft Copilot (January 2026), Meta's Facebook ads checkout (March 2026), Google's AI Mode and Gemini app (April 2026), Meta's Muse agent (September 2026) and Constructor's Agentic Checkout (October 2026). Stripe has also partnered with AWS on agent wallets.

How much agentic commerce runs through Stripe?

Stripe has not said. John Collison said in October 2026 that Stripe's agentic-commerce statistics started rising sharply in September 2026 after the spring launches, but gave no numbers, and Stripe's letters and releases report no transaction counts or dollar volumes for agent purchases.

  1. Stripe powers Instant Checkout in ChatGPT and releases Agentic Commerce Protocol codeveloped with OpenAI
    Stripe · Sep 29, 2025
  2. Buy it in ChatGPT: Instant Checkout and the Agentic Commerce Protocol
    OpenAI · Sep 29, 2025
  3. Stripe helps power Copilot Checkout
    Stripe · Jan 8, 2026
  4. Stripe brings a new checkout experience for Facebook
    Stripe · Mar 24, 2026
  5. Stripe builds out the economic infrastructure for AI with 288 launches
    Stripe · Apr 29, 2026
  6. Stripe helps Muse, Meta's new personal AI agent, shop across the internet with Link
    Stripe · Sep 8, 2026
  7. Shared payment tokens (Stripe documentation; undated page, retrieved 2026-10-22)
    Stripe · Oct 22, 2026
  8. Supporting additional payment methods for agentic commerce
    Stripe · Mar 3, 2026
  9. Stripe updates Link, a digital wallet that autonomous AI agents can use, too
    TechCrunch · Apr 30, 2026
  10. Introducing the Machine Payments Protocol
    Stripe · Mar 18, 2026
  11. Meta joins with group of companies to tame 'chaos' of doing business with AI bots
    CNBC · Oct 6, 2026
  12. Stripe Services Agreement—General Terms
    Stripe · Sep 28, 2026
  13. CFPB deluged with open banking comments
    Payments Dive · Oct 23, 2025
  14. Stripe agentic commerce revs up
    Payments Dive · Oct 15, 2026
  15. Stripe introduces the Agentic Commerce Suite
    Stripe · Dec 11, 2025
  16. New tools from Stripe allow German businesses to sell globally—including to AI agents
    Stripe · Jun 30, 2026
  17. Constructor Launches Agentic Checkout, Powered by Stripe--Letting Shoppers Go From Product Discovery to Purchase Within a Single AI Agent Experience
    Constructor via PR Newswire · Oct 5, 2026
  18. Stripe advances security for agentic commerce
    American Banker · Mar 6, 2026
  19. Stripe-backed crypto startup Tempo releases AI payments protocol, launches blockchain
    Fortune · Mar 18, 2026
  20. Stripe partners with AWS to power AgentCore payments with Privy
    Stripe · May 7, 2026
  21. Everything we announced at Sessions 2026
    Stripe · Apr 29, 2026
  22. Stripe publishes 2025 annual letter and announces tender offer to provide liquidity to current and former employees
    Stripe · Feb 24, 2026

When Stripe moves on AI, you'll read it here first.

when a bank, fintech or regulator moves on AI, it is in the next morning's brief · six sourced stories · 7 am PT · free

plus every regulation, bank and agent page update, the morning after · leave any morning