What is Stripe's role in open finance and open banking?
Stripe is both a user of open banking and a vocal party in the U.S. fight over it. In May 2022 it launched Financial Connections, which lets businesses link customers' U.S. bank accounts to verify them for payments and payouts, check balances and confirm ownership; Stripe said platforms using it with Connect cut payout failures by 75%, and the launch put it in direct competition with Plaid. Financial Connections now also returns transaction data, and its documentation says Chase, PNC Bank and US Bank issue tokenized account numbers rather than real ones. Instant Bank Payments use bank accounts saved in Link for U.S. payments with instant confirmation. In Europe, Stripe launched Pay by Bank, its first open-banking-powered payment method, in the UK in May 2024 and extended it with TrueLayer to France and Germany in July 2025; its documentation lists Finland, France, Germany, Ireland and the UK. On policy, Stripe told the CFPB in September 2025 that JPMorganChase's plan to charge data aggregators would leave startups and small businesses facing higher transaction costs, and in an October 2025 comment letter said open banking rules will shape agentic commerce and stablecoins. Stripe does not disclose Financial Connections or Pay by Bank volumes, which aggregators it relies on in the U.S., or whether it pays banks for data access.[1][2][3][4][5][6][7][8][9]
Data as of Oct 22, 2026 · Stripe profile updated Oct 22, 2026 · 22 sources cited on this page · 52 fintechs profiled on this site · Markdown
Which open banking and bank-payment products does Stripe offer, and where?
| Product | What it does | Where | Since |
|---|---|---|---|
| Financial Connections | Links customers' bank accounts so businesses can verify accounts for payments and payouts, check balances and confirm ownership; launched at $1.50 per verification and $0.10 per balance call | U.S. bank accounts | May 2022[1] |
| Financial Connections today | One integration for account verification, balances, ownership and transactions data; Link lets users save and reuse bank details across Stripe businesses | Businesses in the U.S., UK and much of Europe, for U.S. bank accounts | Documentation retrieved October 22, 2026[2] |
| Tokenized account numbers | Financial Connections handles bank-issued tokenized account numbers that can expire or be revoked; Chase, PNC Bank and US Bank issue them | United States | Documentation retrieved October 22, 2026[3] |
| Pay by Bank (UK launch) | Stripe's first open-banking-powered payment method, offered first to UK businesses as a low-cost, real-time way to pay from a bank account | United Kingdom | May 22, 2024[5] |
| Pay by Bank (Europe) | Expanded with TrueLayer's open banking infrastructure from the UK to France and Germany | France, Germany | July 2, 2025[6] |
| Pay by Bank today | Single-use payments approved in the customer's banking app, between 0.50 GBP and 10,000 GBP by default; France and Germany in private preview | Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, United Kingdom | Documentation retrieved October 22, 2026[7] |
| Instant Bank Payments | Pay with a U.S. bank account saved in Link, with instant confirmation and two-day settlement like cards, and dispute support | United States | Documentation retrieved October 22, 2026[4] |
| Pix via EBANX | Businesses on Stripe can accept Brazil's central bank instant payment method, settling in their domestic currency | Brazil | August 11, 2025[10] |
What has Stripe told regulators about open banking, and when?
| Position | Detail | Date |
|---|---|---|
| Against JPMorganChase's data fees | Stripe told the CFPB that charging data companies would make "startups and small businesses... face higher transaction costs" and cost households cheap ways to pay, arguing the Biden-era rule forbids such fees | September 3, 2025[8] |
| 1033 reconsideration letter | A 22-page letter from Jonah Crane, head of global regulatory and policy development, said the CFPB's decisions will affect agentic AI commerce and stablecoins | October 2025 (reported October 23)[9] |
| Warning on incumbents | Stripe warned that these shifts will drive innovation "unless they are asphyxiated by fees and other anti-competitive restrictions imposed by incumbents" | October 2025 (reported October 23)[9] |
How does open banking fit Stripe's business, and what is not disclosed?
Stripe's open banking products feed its payments business rather than standing alone. At launch it said Financial Connections, used with Connect, cut payout failures by 75% and let it offer users 55% larger loans. Plaid's CEO publicly criticised the launch, Business Insider reported, since it put Stripe in direct competition with a former partner.[1]
In Europe Stripe relies on a partner for bank connectivity: Pay by Bank uses TrueLayer's open banking infrastructure, which PYMNTS reported connects to bank accounts throughout Europe, with pay-by-bank payments in the EU forecast to reach 30 billion in 2028.[6]
The U.S. fight matters to Stripe because its comment letters tie data access to its newer bets: agentic commerce and stablecoins. The CFPB received about 14,000 comments by the October 21, 2025 deadline, and the existing rule was set to take effect for the largest banks on July 1, 2026, Payments Dive reported.[9]
What is not disclosed: Financial Connections and Pay by Bank volumes or revenue, the number of banks reached directly versus through partners, whether Stripe has signed data-access fee agreements with JPMorganChase or other banks, and current Financial Connections pricing beyond the 2022 launch rates.[1][8][2]
What does the Stripe profile record on this topic?
The rows below are the entries of the Stripe AI strategy profile that bear on this page, as of Oct 22, 2026; the profile holds the full record of 18 dated moves, 10 use cases and 27 sources.
| Use case | What the record shows | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Radar and the Payments Foundation Model | Machine-learning fraud screening across the network; the Payments Foundation Model raised detection of card-testing attacks on large businesses by 64%. | In production | [11] |
| Radar for token theft and sign-up abuse | Radar now scores sign-ups and usage in real time for AI companies; Stripe said it blocked more than 3.3 million risky sign-ups in one month for eight AI businesses. | In production | [12][13] |
| Link wallets for agents | Consumers let AI agents pay with Link; the agent gets a one-time-use card per task and each payment is approved by the user. Integrated into Meta's Muse agent in September 2026. | In production | [12][14][15] |
| Date | Move | Detail | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 28, 2026 | Services Agreement adds an AI Agent clause | Stripe's Services Agreement general terms, last modified September 28, 2026, added section 1.7 'AI Agent': a user is solely responsible for each action an AI agent initiates or completes through Stripe services, which Stripe treats as legally binding on the user; the change applies to new users immediately and to existing users from January 6, 2027 where it has a material effect. | [16] |
| Aug 28, 2026 | PayPal pursuit ends | American Banker, citing Bloomberg, reported that Stripe and Advent had ended their attempt to acquire PayPal, following PayPal's cool response to the offer. | [17] |
| May 28, 2026 | Stripe's Georgia acquirer bank takes on card acquiring | Stripe published Member Bank terms, last updated May 28, 2026, under which Stripe MALPB, a Georgia Merchant Acquirer Limited Purpose Bank in Atlanta, is the payment method acquirer for applicable Visa and Mastercard transactions processed by Stripe. | [18] |
| Apr 29, 2026 | Sessions 2026: 288 launches, agent wallets, token-theft defence | Stripe announced a partnership to let businesses sell inside Google's AI Mode and the Gemini app, Link wallets for agents, streaming payments for AI usage, and Radar coverage of token theft; Radar blocked more than 3.3 million risky sign-ups in a month for eight AI businesses. | [12][14] |
| Feb 24, 2026 | 2025 volume reaches $1.9 trillion; $159 billion tender offer | Businesses on Stripe generated $1.9 trillion in 2025, up 34%; the annual letter describes the Agentic Commerce Protocol, Agentic Commerce Suite, Shared Payment Tokens and machine payments, and a tender offer valued Stripe at $159 billion. | [19] |
| Feb 12, 2026 | OCC conditionally approves Bridge National Trust Bank | The OCC granted preliminary conditional approval for a national trust bank to be owned by Bridge Ventures, Stripe's stablecoin subsidiary; final approval requires all preopening conditions to be met. | [20] |
| Dec 11, 2025 | Agentic Commerce Suite launched | A low-code product to let businesses sell across multiple AI agents through one integration, with Coach, Kate Spade, URBN, Etsy, Wix and Squarespace among the businesses and platforms that said they would use it. | [21] |
| Feb 27, 2025 | 2024 volume hits $1.4 trillion; Collisons credit AI | Stripe processed $1.4 trillion in total payment volume in 2024, up 38%; the annual letter said Stripe continually retrains dozens of machine-learning models across the transaction flow, and that over 700 AI agent startups launched on Stripe that year. | [22] |
What is Stripe Financial Connections?
Stripe's open banking data product, launched in May 2022. It lets customers link U.S. bank accounts so businesses can verify them for ACH payments and payouts, check balances, confirm ownership and pull transactions. Business Insider reported launch pricing of $1.50 per verification and $0.10 per balance call; Stripe does not publish usage figures.
Does Stripe offer pay by bank?
Yes. Stripe launched Pay by Bank, its first open-banking-powered payment method, in the UK in May 2024 and expanded it with TrueLayer to France and Germany in July 2025. Its documentation lists Finland, France, Germany, Ireland and the UK. In the U.S., Instant Bank Payments use bank accounts saved in Link.
What is Stripe's position on JPMorgan's data access fees?
Opposed. In comments published in September 2025, Stripe told the CFPB that JPMorganChase's plan to charge data aggregators would raise transaction costs for startups and small businesses and cost households convenient, cheap ways to pay, and argued the existing 1033 rule bars such fees.
What did Stripe tell the CFPB about the 1033 open banking rule?
In a 22-page letter in the CFPB's 2025 reconsideration, Stripe's head of global regulatory and policy development Jonah Crane said the bureau's choices will affect agentic AI commerce and stablecoins, and warned against innovation being asphyxiated by fees and anti-competitive restrictions from incumbents, per Payments Dive.
Does Stripe compete with Plaid?
In bank data, yes. Business Insider reported in May 2022 that Financial Connections put Stripe in direct competition with Plaid, a former partner, and that Plaid's CEO publicly questioned Stripe's methods. Stripe does not disclose how many of its bank connections are direct or through other providers.
- Stripe launches open banking product in direct competition with Plaid
- Stripe Financial Connections (Stripe documentation; undated page, retrieved 2026-10-22)
- Manage bank accounts with Tokenized Account Numbers (Stripe documentation; undated page, retrieved 2026-10-22)
- Instant Bank Payments (Stripe documentation; undated page, retrieved 2026-10-22)
- Stripe launches payment and financing tools in the UK
- Stripe Expands Pay-by-Bank Offering in Partnership With TrueLayer
- Pay by Bank payments (Stripe documentation; undated page, retrieved 2026-10-22)
- Stripe slams JPMorganChase's data fee plan
- CFPB deluged with open banking comments
- Stripe Gives Businesses Access to Pix Via EBANX Partnership
- Stripe accelerates the utility of AI and stablecoins with major launches
- Stripe builds out the economic infrastructure for AI with 288 launches
- Stripe CEO Patrick Collison says a wave of token theft is wreaking havoc on the AI economy
- Stripe updates Link, a digital wallet that autonomous AI agents can use, too
- Stripe helps Muse, Meta's new personal AI agent, shop across the internet with Link
- Stripe Services Agreement—General Terms
- Stripe, Advent suspend their pursuit of PayPal
- Stripe MALPB Acquirer Terms
- Stripe publishes 2025 annual letter and announces tender offer to provide liquidity to current and former employees
- Corporate Decision #1365: Bridge National Trust Bank (preliminary conditional approval)
- Stripe introduces the Agentic Commerce Suite
- Stripe's total payment volume reaches $1.4T, fueled by long-standing investments in AI
When Stripe moves on AI, you'll read it here first.
when a bank, fintech or regulator moves on AI, it is in the next morning's brief · six sourced stories · 7 am PT · free
plus every regulation, bank and agent page update, the morning after · leave any morning