AI as both engine and market: machine-learning models (now a payments foundation model) run fraud and authorization inside the network, while Stripe sells 'economic infrastructure for AI' to AI companies and to the agents that buy on consumers' behalf.
How is Stripe using AI?
Stripe runs machine-learning models across every transaction, including a Payments Foundation Model (May 2025) trained on tens of billions of transactions, and sells what it calls economic infrastructure for AI: the Agentic Commerce Protocol with OpenAI, checkout inside ChatGPT and Copilot, with Google's Gemini announced, and Link wallets for agents. Businesses on Stripe processed $1.9 trillion in 2025, up 34%. In August 2026 Stripe agreed to buy AI model router OpenRouter, and it dropped a $53 billion bid for PayPal.
Category
Payments
Founded
2010
Headquarters
San Francisco, United States and Dublin, Ireland (dual headquarters)
Licence and supervision
US: Stripe Payments Company, a state-licensed money transmitter (including New York DFS) and federally registered money services business; Stripe MALPB, a Georgia merchant acquirer limited purpose bank, acts as Visa and Mastercard acquirer under terms dated May 28, 2026; stablecoin unit Bridge has OCC preliminary conditional approval (February 2026) for Bridge National Trust Bank. EU: Stripe Technology Europe Ltd, e-money institution authorised by the Central Bank of Ireland. UK: Stripe Payments UK Ltd, e-money institution authorised by the FCA.
Scale
$1.9 trillion of total volume processed by businesses on Stripe in 2025, up 34% from 2024 (calendar year to December 31, 2025)
Flagship platform
Payments Foundation Model and the Agentic Commerce Suite
AI leadership
Patrick Collison · John Collison · Will Gaybrick · Emily Sands · Kevin Miller
- Stripe's Payments Foundation Model, announced at Sessions on May 7, 2025, is trained on tens of billions of transactions; Stripe said applying it to card-testing attacks raised its detection rate for attacks on large businesses by 64% 'practically overnight', after earlier models cut card testing by 80% over two years.
- With OpenAI, Stripe co-developed the Agentic Commerce Protocol and powered Instant Checkout in ChatGPT (September 29, 2025), using Shared Payment Tokens so the AI app can start a payment without seeing the buyer's credentials; similar Stripe-powered checkouts followed in Microsoft Copilot (January 2026), Facebook (March 2026) and, announced at Sessions 2026, Google's AI Mode and the Gemini app.
- At Sessions on April 29, 2026 Stripe announced 288 products and features, including Link wallets for agents, streaming per-token payments built on Metronome and the Tempo blockchain, and an expansion of Radar to token theft: Stripe said one in six attempted sign-ups at AI services on Stripe is made by a bad actor.
- Businesses on Stripe generated $1.9 trillion in total volume in 2025, up 34%, after $1.4 trillion in 2024; in February 2026 a tender offer valued Stripe at $159 billion.
- On August 19, 2026 Stripe agreed to acquire OpenRouter, which routes AI requests across 400+ models from more than 80 providers; Stripe did not disclose terms, and CNBC reported a New York Times figure of about $7.5 billion.
- Stripe and Advent International offered $60.50 a share (about $53.4 billion) for PayPal in July 2026, per CNBC; American Banker reported on August 28, 2026, citing Bloomberg, that the two had ended the pursuit.
- Stripe's regulated footprint is widening: Stripe MALPB, a Georgia merchant acquirer limited purpose bank, became a Visa and Mastercard acquirer under terms dated May 28, 2026, and the OCC granted preliminary conditional approval on February 12, 2026 for Bridge National Trust Bank, owned by Stripe's stablecoin unit Bridge.
What is Payments Foundation Model and the Agentic Commerce Suite?
In May 2025 Stripe announced a Payments Foundation Model trained on tens of billions of transactions, to be deployed across its payments suite; applied to card-testing attacks, it raised Stripe's detection rate for attacks on large businesses by 64%. On the commerce side, Stripe co-developed the Agentic Commerce Protocol with OpenAI (September 2025), launched the Agentic Commerce Suite (December 2025), and in April 2026 added Link wallets that let AI agents pay on a consumer's behalf.[2][3][4][9]
What has Stripe done on AI, and when?
- Sep 8, 2026
Meta's Muse agent shops with Stripe's Link[11]
Meta integrated Link's wallet for agents into Muse, its personal AI agent; at over 1 million businesses that accept Link, Muse can check out with the consumer's saved payment method, and elsewhere Link issues a single-use virtual card.
- Aug 28, 2026
PayPal pursuit ends[23]
American Banker, citing Bloomberg, reported that Stripe and Advent had ended their attempt to acquire PayPal, following PayPal's cool response to the offer.
- Aug 19, 2026
Stripe agrees to acquire OpenRouter[10][21][22]
Stripe agreed to buy OpenRouter, an AI model gateway routing requests across 400+ models; terms were not disclosed, and CNBC cited a New York Times report of about $7.5 billion. In a same-day investor letter reported by Business Insider, Stripe said first-half revenue rose 41% year over year.
- Jul 15, 2026
Stripe and Advent offer $53.4 billion for PayPal[20]
CNBC confirmed a joint $60.50-a-share cash offer by Stripe and Advent International, valuing PayPal at $53.4 billion.
- May 28, 2026
Stripe's Georgia acquirer bank takes on card acquiring[17]
Stripe published Member Bank terms, last updated May 28, 2026, under which Stripe MALPB, a Georgia Merchant Acquirer Limited Purpose Bank in Atlanta, is the payment method acquirer for applicable Visa and Mastercard transactions processed by Stripe.
- Apr 29, 2026
Sessions 2026: 288 launches, agent wallets, token-theft defence[9][18]
Stripe announced a partnership to let businesses sell inside Google's AI Mode and the Gemini app, Link wallets for agents, streaming payments for AI usage, and Radar coverage of token theft; Radar blocked more than 3.3 million risky sign-ups in a month for eight AI businesses.
- Feb 24, 2026
2025 volume reaches $1.9 trillion; $159 billion tender offer[7]
Businesses on Stripe generated $1.9 trillion in 2025, up 34%; the annual letter describes the Agentic Commerce Protocol, Agentic Commerce Suite, Shared Payment Tokens and machine payments, and a tender offer valued Stripe at $159 billion.
- Feb 12, 2026
OCC conditionally approves Bridge National Trust Bank[16]
The OCC granted preliminary conditional approval for a national trust bank to be owned by Bridge Ventures, Stripe's stablecoin subsidiary; final approval requires all preopening conditions to be met.
- Jan 14, 2026
Metronome acquisition completed[6]
Stripe completed its purchase of Metronome, a usage-based billing company whose metering engine Patrick Collison said already powers AI companies including OpenAI, Anthropic and NVIDIA.
- Jan 8, 2026
Stripe powers Copilot Checkout for Microsoft[5]
US Copilot users will be able to buy from Etsy sellers and retailers such as Urban Outfitters in the chat, with Stripe connecting to sellers over the Agentic Commerce Protocol.
- Dec 11, 2025
Agentic Commerce Suite launched[4]
A low-code product to let businesses sell across multiple AI agents through one integration, with Coach, Kate Spade, URBN, Etsy, Wix and Squarespace among the businesses and platforms that said they would use it.
- Sep 29, 2025
Agentic Commerce Protocol and Instant Checkout in ChatGPT[3]
Stripe and OpenAI released the Agentic Commerce Protocol, an open standard, and US ChatGPT users began buying from Etsy sellers in the chat with Stripe-powered checkout and Shared Payment Tokens.
- May 7, 2025
Stripe announces a Payments Foundation Model[2]
At Sessions 2025 Stripe said it had built an AI foundation model for payments, trained on tens of billions of transactions, to be deployed across its payments suite; applied to card testing, it lifted detection of attacks on large businesses by 64%.
- Feb 27, 2025
2024 volume hits $1.4 trillion; Collisons credit AI[1]
Stripe processed $1.4 trillion in total payment volume in 2024, up 38%; the annual letter said Stripe continually retrains dozens of machine-learning models across the transaction flow, and that over 700 AI agent startups launched on Stripe that year.
Where does Stripe use AI today?
| System | What it does | Status | Use case |
|---|---|---|---|
| Radar and the Payments Foundation Model[2] | Machine-learning fraud screening across the network; the Payments Foundation Model raised detection of card-testing attacks on large businesses by 64%. | In production | Fraud detection |
| Radar for token theft and sign-up abuse[9][19] | Radar now scores sign-ups and usage in real time for AI companies; Stripe said it blocked more than 3.3 million risky sign-ups in one month for eight AI businesses. | In production | Fraud detection |
| Agentic Commerce Protocol and Instant Checkout[3][5][8] | Open standard co-developed with OpenAI that lets AI agents place orders with merchants; powers checkout in ChatGPT, Microsoft Copilot and Facebook. | In production | Generative & agentic AI |
| Agentic Commerce Suite[4][9] | Single integration for businesses to sell inside AI apps; being extended to Google AI Mode and the Gemini app, with some merchants 'coming soon'. | Rolling out | Generative & agentic AI |
| Link wallets for agents[9][18][11] | Consumers let AI agents pay with Link; the agent gets a one-time-use card per task and each payment is approved by the user. Integrated into Meta's Muse agent in September 2026. | In production | Generative & agentic AI |
| Shared Payment Tokens[3] | A payment primitive scoped to one merchant and cart total, letting AI apps start a payment without exposing the buyer's payment credentials. | In production | Data & privacy |
| OpenRouter model routing[10] | Agreed acquisition of OpenRouter to help businesses route AI requests across 400+ models from more than 80 providers and manage token costs. | Announced | Third-party & vendor AI |
| Stripe Projects for developers and coding agents[9] | Lets developers or their agents sign up for, buy and integrate services (32 providers) directly from where they write or prompt code; generally available from April 2026. | In production | AI-generated code & coding agents |
Use-case links open the tracker's rules-by-use-case matrix: which documents govern each system type.
What has Stripe disclosed in numbers?
| Metric | Value | As of |
|---|---|---|
| Total volume on Stripe | $1.9 trillion in 2025, up 34% (2024: $1.4 trillion, up 38%)[7][1] | Dec 31, 2025 |
| Tender-offer valuation | $159 billion[7] | Feb 24, 2026 |
| Payments Foundation Model, card-testing detection | detection rate for attacks on large businesses up 64%; trained on tens of billions of transactions[2] | May 7, 2025 |
| Radar, AI sign-up fraud | 1 in 6 attempted sign-ups at AI services on Stripe made by a bad actor; more than 3.3 million risky sign-ups blocked in a month for eight AI businesses[9] | Apr 29, 2026 |
| Link users | over 250 million (April 2026); over 300 million (September 2026)[9][11] | Sep 8, 2026 |
| Products and features announced at Sessions 2026 | 288[9] | Apr 29, 2026 |
| First-half revenue growth | up 41% year over year (company investor letter, reported by Business Insider)[22] | Jun 30, 2026 |
| Licensed payment entities | Stripe Technology Europe Ltd, Central Bank of Ireland e-money institution C187865; Stripe Payments UK Ltd, FCA e-money institution 900461; Stripe Payments Company, US state-licensed money transmitter (including New York DFS) and federally registered MSB[12][13][14][15] | Sep 23, 2026 |
“AI is the biggest platform shift for the economy since the internet, and in the not-too-distant future agents will account for most transactions online.”[9]
Patrick Collison · CEO and cofounder · Apr 29, 2026
“The singularity appears to be accelerating our core business”[22]
Patrick Collison, John Collison and William Gaybrick · CEO, President, and President of Technology and Business (investor letter) · Aug 19, 2026
“I think token theft is the most under-discussed topic in AI”[19]
Emily Sands · Head of Data and AI · May 7, 2026
“If AI can solve Nobel level physics problems but can’t buy a domain, something’s gone wrong. Our mantra: empower agents.”[9]
Will Gaybrick · President of Product and Business · Apr 29, 2026
Who runs AI at Stripe?
Which regulators govern Stripe's AI?
| Authority | Why it matters here | Documents |
|---|---|---|
| Central Bank of Ireland | Authorises Stripe Technology Europe Ltd (reference C187865) as the e-money institution through which Stripe issues e-money and acquires payments across the EU. | |
| UK (BoE / PRA / FCA) | Stripe Payments UK Ltd is an e-money institution authorised by the FCA (reference 900461) to issue e-money and acquire payment transactions for UK businesses. | FCA AI Update (Apr 2024) |
| NY DFS | Stripe Payments Company is licensed and regulated as a money transmitter by the New York State Department of Financial Services, bringing it under DFS cybersecurity rules and AI-related cyber guidance. | 23 NYCRR Part 500 DFS AI Cybersecurity Industry Letter (Oct 2024) |
| FinCEN | Stripe Payments Company is a federally registered money services business, subject to Bank Secrecy Act anti-money-laundering and reporting obligations. | |
| OCC | The OCC granted preliminary conditional approval in February 2026 for Bridge National Trust Bank, a proposed national trust bank owned by Stripe's stablecoin unit Bridge Ventures, which issues the USDB stablecoin. | |
| Georgia Department of Banking and Finance | Charters Stripe MALPB, the Georgia Merchant Acquirer Limited Purpose Bank that Stripe's May 2026 terms name as payment method acquirer for applicable Visa and Mastercard transactions. |
Linked authorities have a page in the AI Regulation Tracker; the others are named for completeness and not yet tracked.
What does the public record suggest about Stripe's AI strategy?
Analysis by BankingNewsAI from the sources cited on this page. Observations, not advice.
01
Stripe's AI claims are mostly about network data, not a chatbot
The flagship AI asset is a foundation model trained on tens of billions of transactions and applied to fraud and authorization. Stripe has not published a customer-service assistant figure comparable to Klarna's; its AI story is inside the payment flow.
02
Agentic commerce is being built as open plumbing across rival AI platforms
The same protocol and token primitive now serve OpenAI, Microsoft, Meta and Google surfaces, and ACP is usable by businesses on other processors. That positions Stripe as a neutral layer rather than a partner of one lab.
03
AI companies are both customers and a fraud target
Stripe's own figures (one in six AI sign-ups by bad actors, free-trial abuse more than doubling in six months) show AI businesses bringing new fraud patterns that Radar is being extended to cover.
04
Private status limits the verifiable record
As a private company Stripe publishes no audited AI spend or headcount figures; volume, valuation and revenue growth come from its own letters and statements to investors reported by the press, and should be read as company claims.
05
Charters bring more of the stack under US bank supervision
The Georgia acquirer bank (acquiring terms dated May 2026) and Bridge's conditionally approved OCC trust bank move parts of Stripe's payments and stablecoin rails, including those behind per-token AI billing, inside banking supervision.
How does Stripe use AI?
Stripe runs machine-learning models across its transaction flow for fraud screening (Radar), authorization and checkout optimization. In May 2025 it announced a Payments Foundation Model trained on tens of billions of transactions, which raised detection of card-testing attacks on large businesses by 64%. It also builds agentic-commerce tools that let AI agents buy from businesses.
Does Stripe work with OpenAI?
Yes. Stripe and OpenAI have partnered since 2023, when OpenAI began using Stripe Billing, Checkout, Radar and Link for ChatGPT Plus. On September 29, 2025 they released the Agentic Commerce Protocol, an open standard, and Stripe began powering Instant Checkout in ChatGPT for US users buying from Etsy sellers.
What is the Agentic Commerce Protocol?
An open standard co-developed by Stripe and OpenAI, released September 29, 2025, that gives AI agents and businesses a shared way to place and fulfil orders. Payments use Shared Payment Tokens scoped to one merchant and cart total, so the AI app never sees the buyer's credentials. It now underpins checkout in ChatGPT, Microsoft Copilot and Facebook.
Did Stripe buy OpenRouter?
Stripe announced on August 19, 2026 that it had agreed to acquire OpenRouter, an AI model gateway that routes requests across 400+ models from more than 80 providers. Stripe did not disclose terms; CNBC cited a New York Times report putting the price at about $7.5 billion.
Is Stripe buying PayPal?
No. Stripe and Advent International offered $60.50 a share, valuing PayPal at $53.4 billion, in July 2026, CNBC confirmed. On August 28, 2026 American Banker, citing Bloomberg, reported that the two had ended their pursuit after PayPal's cool response to the offer.
Is Stripe a bank?
Not in the full sense. Stripe operates through licensed payment entities: US money transmitter Stripe Payments Company, e-money institutions authorised in Ireland and the UK, and Stripe MALPB, a Georgia merchant acquirer limited purpose bank that acts as Visa and Mastercard acquirer under terms dated May 28, 2026. Its stablecoin unit Bridge received OCC preliminary conditional approval for a national trust bank in February 2026.
How big is Stripe?
Businesses on Stripe generated $1.9 trillion in total volume in 2025, up 34% from $1.4 trillion in 2024. A February 2026 tender offer valued the private company at $159 billion, and Stripe told investors in August 2026 that first-half revenue rose 41% year over year, according to Business Insider.
- Stripe's total payment volume reaches $1.4T, fueled by long-standing investments in AI
- Stripe accelerates the utility of AI and stablecoins with major launches
- Stripe powers Instant Checkout in ChatGPT and releases Agentic Commerce Protocol codeveloped with OpenAI
- Stripe introduces the Agentic Commerce Suite
- Stripe helps power Copilot Checkout
- Stripe completes Metronome acquisition
- Stripe publishes 2025 annual letter and announces tender offer to provide liquidity to current and former employees
- Stripe brings a new checkout experience for Facebook
- Stripe builds out the economic infrastructure for AI with 288 launches
- Stripe agrees to acquire OpenRouter to help businesses optimize token routing and usage
- Stripe helps Muse, Meta's new personal AI agent, shop across the internet with Link
- Stripe Technology Europe Limited services terms (Central Bank of Ireland authorisation)
- Stripe Payments UK Limited services terms (FCA authorisation)
- Stripe Payments Company Licenses
- Stripe Payments Company Terms
- Corporate Decision #1365: Bridge National Trust Bank (preliminary conditional approval)
- Stripe MALPB Acquirer Terms
- Stripe updates Link, a digital wallet that autonomous AI agents can use, too
- Stripe CEO Patrick Collison says a wave of token theft is wreaking havoc on the AI economy
- Stripe, Advent make $53 billion takeover offer for PayPal, sending stock soaring
- Stripe to buy OpenRouter as fintech expands deeper into AI
- Stripe Says the Singularity Is Here. Here's What They Told Investors.
- Stripe, Advent suspend their pursuit of PayPal
Neobank
BNPL & lending
Payments
Card network
Brokerage
Business finance & infrastructure
When Stripe moves on AI, you'll read it here first.
when a bank, fintech or regulator moves on AI, it is in the next morning's brief · six sourced stories · 7 am ET · free
plus every tracker, bank and agent page update, the morning after · leave any morning