Stripe's role in the digital payments transformation
$1.9 trillion, 125+ payment methods, bank debits and stablecoins.

Last updated Oct 19, 2026 · 28 sources cited

What is Stripe's role in the digital payments transformation?

Stripe is the payments layer for a large share of internet businesses, and it is adding rails beyond cards. Businesses on Stripe processed more than $1 trillion in 2023, $1.4 trillion in 2024 (up 38%, about 1.3% of global GDP) and $1.9 trillion in 2025 (up 34%, roughly 1.6% of global GDP), and Stripe says its services power more than 5 million businesses directly or via platforms. Over Black Friday to Cyber Monday 2025 it processed more than 578 million transactions worth over $40 billion, with cross-border volume up 37% to more than $4.4 billion. Its checkout supports over 125 payment methods (May 2025). Beyond cards, Stripe completed its purchase of stablecoin platform Bridge on February 4, 2025, for $1.1 billion according to Fortune; Bridge's volume more than quadrupled in 2025. Tempo, the payments blockchain Stripe incubated with Paradigm, went live on March 18, 2026, and Stripe Treasury now holds funds in multiple currencies and makes transfers between US businesses on Stripe instant and free. AI enters as risk control on the new rails: Radar was extended to ACH and SEPA debits in April 2025 and to all supported payment methods, including stablecoins, in April 2026.[1][2][3][4][5][6][7][8][9][10][11]

Data as of Oct 19, 2026 · Stripe profile updated Oct 8, 2026 · 28 sources cited on this page · 52 fintechs profiled on this site · Markdown

How much does Stripe process, and how fast is it growing?

Stripe is private and publishes volumes in its annual letter releases and event announcements, not in audited filings. Figures are Stripe's own unless a publisher is named.

MetricValuePeriod
Total payment volumeMore than $1 trillion2023[1]
Total payment volume$1.4 trillion, up 38%, around 1.3% of global GDP2024[2]
Total volume$1.9 trillion, up 34%, roughly 1.6% of global GDP2025[3]
Businesses servedMore than 5 million directly or via platforms, including 90% of the Dow Jones Industrial Average and 80% of the Nasdaq 1002025 letter (February 24, 2026)[3]
Black Friday–Cyber MondayMore than $31 billion, 465 million transactions, $3.2 billion cross-border (2024); more than $40 billion, 578 million transactions, more than $4.4 billion cross-border, up 37% (2025)2024–2025[12][4]
Peak throughput137,000 transactions per minute (BFCM 2024); more than 152,000 (BFCM 2025)2024–2025[12][4]
Payment methodsMore than 100 (September 2023); over 125 after adding 25, including UPI and Pix (May 2025)2023–2025[13][5]
Link wallet usersOver 250 million (April 2026); over 300 million (September 2026)2026[9][14]
New businesses and platformsNew businesses launching on Stripe up 86% year over year; more than 18,000 platforms build on StripeQ2 2026[15]
Revenue growthFirst-half revenue up 41% year over year, per an investor letter reported by Business InsiderH1 2026[16]

Which non-card rails does Stripe run or connect to?

RailStripe's roleDate
ACH and SEPA bank debitsNoncard payment volume on Stripe rose 40% over the prior year, a Radar product manager wrote; Radar extended to ACH and SEPAApril 30, 2025[10]
Bacs Direct Debit and local methodsRadar expanded to Bacs Direct Debit and all other local payment methods on Stripe in the UKJune 10, 2026[17]
Bridge (stablecoin orchestration)Acquisition completed February 4, 2025, for $1.1 billion per Fortune; Bridge volume more than quadrupled in 20252025[6][7][3]
Stablecoin accounts and cardsStablecoin-powered Treasury accounts in 101 countries (USDC and Bridge's USDB); Bridge-issued stablecoin-linked Visa cards starting in Argentina, Colombia, Ecuador, Mexico, Peru and ChileApril–May 2025[5][18]
Stablecoin acceptanceShopify merchants across 34 countries to accept USDC on Base, settled in local currency by defaultJune 12, 2025[19]
Open IssuanceBusinesses can launch their own stablecoin via Bridge; reserves managed by BlackRock, Fidelity Investments and Superstate, cash held by Lead BankSeptember 30, 2025[20]
Tempo blockchainRaised $500 million at a $5 billion valuation, with OpenAI, Shopify and Visa among design partners (October 2025); mainnet live March 18, 20262025–2026[7][8]
Privy walletsAcquired in July 2025; powers more than 110 million programmable wallets2025[3]
Stripe TreasuryFunds held in 15 currencies; transfers between US businesses on Stripe, which pay each other 4.8 million times a day, made free and instant; payouts to 100 countries in fiat and 160 in stablecoinsApril 29, 2026[9]
US Real-Time PaymentsFunding and sending money instantly via RTP from Treasury scheduled for general availability in Q4Roadmap published April 29, 2026[11]

Where is Stripe's growth coming from geographically?

MarketWhat Stripe reportsDate
Outside the US57% of the companies that joined Stripe in 2025 are based outside the USFebruary 24, 2026[3]
United KingdomOver 1 million businesses, including 45% of the FTSE 100 (May 2025); more than 1.5 million (June 2026); Lloyds uses Stripe to power Lloyds Accept for small businesses2025–2026[21][17][22]
FranceNearly 800,000 businesses; French businesses on Stripe earn 22% of revenue abroad, up from 16% in 2020June 16, 2026[23]
GermanyHalf of the DAX40 and over 300,000 other German businesses; more than one million German SMBs use Stripe via software platformsJune 30, 2026[24]
AustraliaStripe Treasury launched; an international sale is around 5 percentage points more likely to be rejected by the customer's issuer, so Stripe Managed Payments began processing such sales domestically through Stripe's local entitiesAugust 19, 2026[25]
Cross-border pricingAdaptive Pricing localises prices and drives an average 17.8% uplift in cross-border revenue, Stripe saysJune 10, 2026[17]

Where does AI come into Stripe's part of the shift, and what is not disclosed?

AI is the risk layer on the newer rails. On ACH and SEPA, Stripe says Radar users see a 20% and 42% reduction in fraud on average; in April 2026 Radar was extended to block high-risk transactions on all supported payment methods, including bank debits, wallets, buy now, pay later and stablecoins.[10][11]

Stripe ties stablecoins and AI together as its two growth bets: Patrick Collison called them "two gale-force tailwinds" at Sessions 2025, and Stripe's 2025 letter release reported that stablecoin payments volume doubled to around $400 billion in 2025. On agent payments, Collison said in April 2026 that agents will account for most online transactions in the not-too-distant future.[5][3][9]

What is not disclosed: stablecoin or bank-debit volume on Stripe itself (only Bridge's growth multiple is given), 2026 payment volume to date, net revenue or take rate, and agentic transaction volume. Stripe's figures are unaudited company statements, and its volume metric changed name from "total payment volume" (2024) to "total volume" (2025).[3][2][16]

What does the Stripe profile record on this topic?

The rows below are the entries of the Stripe AI strategy profile that bear on this page, as of Oct 8, 2026; the profile holds the full record of 17 dated moves, 10 use cases and 26 sources.

DateMoveDetailSource
May 28, 2026Stripe's Georgia acquirer bank takes on card acquiringStripe published Member Bank terms, last updated May 28, 2026, under which Stripe MALPB, a Georgia Merchant Acquirer Limited Purpose Bank in Atlanta, is the payment method acquirer for applicable Visa and Mastercard transactions processed by Stripe.[26]
Feb 24, 20262025 volume reaches $1.9 trillion; $159 billion tender offerBusinesses on Stripe generated $1.9 trillion in 2025, up 34%; the annual letter describes the Agentic Commerce Protocol, Agentic Commerce Suite, Shared Payment Tokens and machine payments, and a tender offer valued Stripe at $159 billion.[3]
Feb 12, 2026OCC conditionally approves Bridge National Trust BankThe OCC granted preliminary conditional approval for a national trust bank to be owned by Bridge Ventures, Stripe's stablecoin subsidiary; final approval requires all preopening conditions to be met.[27]
Jan 14, 2026Metronome acquisition completedStripe completed its purchase of Metronome, a usage-based billing company whose metering engine Patrick Collison said already powers AI companies including OpenAI, Anthropic and NVIDIA.[28]
Feb 27, 20252024 volume hits $1.4 trillion; Collisons credit AIStripe processed $1.4 trillion in total payment volume in 2024, up 38%; the annual letter said Stripe continually retrains dozens of machine-learning models across the transaction flow, and that over 700 AI agent startups launched on Stripe that year.[2]

How much payment volume does Stripe process?

Businesses on Stripe processed $1.9 trillion in 2025, up 34% and equal to roughly 1.6% of global GDP, per Stripe's 2025 annual letter release. That followed $1.4 trillion in 2024, up 38%, and more than $1 trillion in 2023. Stripe is private, so the figures are not audited filings.

Does Stripe support stablecoin payments?

Yes. Stripe bought stablecoin platform Bridge, completed February 4, 2025, offers stablecoin-backed Treasury accounts, enabled USDC acceptance for Shopify merchants in 34 countries, and lets businesses issue their own coins through Open Issuance. Stripe says Bridge's volume more than quadrupled in 2025; it does not disclose stablecoin volume on Stripe.

What is Tempo?

A blockchain built for payments and stablecoins, incubated by Stripe and the venture firm Paradigm. Fortune reported it raised $500 million at a $5 billion valuation in October 2025, and its mainnet went live on March 18, 2026, alongside the Machine Payments Protocol for AI agents.

Does Stripe process bank payments such as ACH and SEPA?

Yes. A Stripe Radar product manager said in April 2025 that noncard payment volume on Stripe had grown 40% over the prior year, and Stripe extended Radar fraud screening to ACH and SEPA debits, then in 2026 to Bacs Direct Debit and all other supported payment methods.

How busy was Stripe over Black Friday–Cyber Monday 2025?

Stripe says businesses on its network processed more than 578 million transactions worth over $40 billion from Black Friday through Cyber Monday 2025, its largest four-day period. Cross-border volume grew 37% to more than $4.4 billion, and Radar prevented more than 24.6 million attempted fraudulent transactions.

  1. Stripe Sessions: 50+ announcements, including AI-powered payments, major upgrades to Connect, interoperability, and more
    Stripe · Apr 24, 2024
  2. Stripe's total payment volume reaches $1.4T, fueled by long-standing investments in AI
    Stripe · Feb 27, 2025
  3. Stripe publishes 2025 annual letter and announces tender offer to provide liquidity to current and former employees
    Stripe · Feb 24, 2026
  4. Businesses on Stripe processed more than $40 billion from Black Friday through Cyber Monday
    Stripe · Dec 2, 2025
  5. Stripe accelerates the utility of AI and stablecoins with major launches
    Stripe · May 7, 2025
  6. Stripe completes Bridge acquisition
    Stripe · Feb 4, 2025
  7. Exclusive: Stripe-backed blockchain startup Tempo raises $500 million round led by Joshua Kushner's Thrive Capital and Greenoaks
    Fortune · Oct 17, 2025
  8. Stripe-backed crypto startup Tempo releases AI payments protocol, launches blockchain
    Fortune · Mar 18, 2026
  9. Stripe builds out the economic infrastructure for AI with 288 launches
    Stripe · Apr 29, 2026
  10. Stripe Radar now protects ACH and SEPA payments from fraud
    Stripe · Apr 30, 2025
  11. Everything we announced at Sessions 2026
    Stripe · Apr 29, 2026
  12. Businesses processed more than $31 billion on Stripe from Black Friday through Cyber Monday
    Stripe · Dec 3, 2024
  13. Stripe launches the biggest set of upgrades yet for its optimized checkout suite
    Stripe · Sep 18, 2023
  14. Stripe helps Muse, Meta's new personal AI agent, shop across the internet with Link
    Stripe · Sep 8, 2026
  15. Stripe agrees to acquire Parafin to expand revenue opportunities for platforms and help small businesses grow
    Stripe · Sep 30, 2026
  16. Stripe Says the Singularity Is Here. Here's What They Told Investors.
    Business Insider · Aug 19, 2026
  17. Stripe helps UK businesses sell globally and build for the AI economy
    Stripe · Jun 10, 2026
  18. Bridge partners with Visa to launch stablecoin card issuing product
    Stripe · Apr 30, 2025
  19. Stripe will help millions of Shopify merchants to accept stablecoin payments
    Stripe · Jun 12, 2025
  20. Stripe launches new products to drive stablecoins and agentic commerce into the mainstream
    Stripe · Sep 30, 2025
  21. Stripe fuels UK business growth with global money management capabilities
    Stripe · May 28, 2025
  22. Stripe powers Lloyds' new suite of payment tools for UK small businesses
    Stripe · Jun 9, 2026
  23. Stripe equips French companies to compete globally in an AI-driven economy
    Stripe · Jun 16, 2026
  24. New tools from Stripe allow German businesses to sell globally—including to AI agents
    Stripe · Jun 30, 2026
  25. Stripe Treasury launches in Australia, unifying payments and global money management
    Stripe · Aug 19, 2026
  26. Stripe MALPB Acquirer Terms
    Stripe · May 28, 2026
  27. Corporate Decision #1365: Bridge National Trust Bank (preliminary conditional approval)
    Office of the Comptroller of the Currency · Feb 12, 2026
  28. Stripe completes Metronome acquisition
    Stripe · Jan 14, 2026

When Stripe moves on AI, you'll read it here first.

when a bank, fintech or regulator moves on AI, it is in the next morning's brief · six sourced stories · 7 am PT · free

plus every regulation, bank and agent page update, the morning after · leave any morning