What is Mastercard's role in open finance and open banking?
Mastercard sells open banking data access and account-to-account payment initiation, built mainly through acquisitions. It launched its first open banking connectivity in the UK and Poland in 2019 through a partnership with Token, completed its purchase of U.S. data aggregator Finicity on November 19, 2020 (for $825 million, per a 2021 Mastercard article), and on September 7, 2021 agreed to buy Aiia, which then had connections to more than 2,700 European banks. The FY2025 10-K describes an open finance platform that lets data providers and third parties access, transmit and manage consumer and small business data on a permissioned basis, sold for account opening, lending, payments and financial management. Mastercard says Mastercard Open Finance powers more than 10,000 services and apps in the U.S. (July 2026). Truist made Mastercard its first direct open banking API integration in February 2026, and Equifax added three of its cash-flow products in October 2026. On payments, J.P. Morgan's Pay-by-bank went live on Mastercard's open banking technology in October 2023, and Deutsche Bank, Cardstream and Paytently use it in Europe. On regulation, Mastercard said in 2024 that its principles align with the CFPB's section 1033 rulemaking, and in October 2025 it was largely supportive of the rule while asking for more specificity on data terms and usage, per Payments Dive. Mastercard does not disclose open finance revenue, connection counts by market or Pay by Bank volumes.[1][2][3][4][5][6][7][8][9][10][11][12][13]
Data as of Oct 22, 2026 · Mastercard profile updated Oct 22, 2026 · 26 sources cited on this page · 52 fintechs profiled on this site · Markdown
How did Mastercard build its open banking data business, and who uses it?
| Move | What the record shows | Date |
|---|---|---|
| Token partnership | Mastercard's first open banking connectivity offering, in the UK and Poland | 2019[1] |
| Finicity acquisition completed | Adds a North American provider of real-time access to financial data, with direct connections to the banking, lending and wealth management ecosystem | November 19, 2020[2] |
| Finicity price and reach | Bought for $825 million; Finicity's CEO said it had integrated more than 10,000 banks by 2015 | April 8, 2021[3] |
| Aiia acquisition agreed | European open banking provider with connections to more than 2,700 banks, more than 10 million bank logins and more than a million account-to-account payments a month | September 7, 2021[1] |
| bunq | The neobank's 12.5 million users can add accounts from any bank through Mastercard's Open Banking platform, with its AI assistant Finn drawing on the data | June 4, 2024[14] |
| Truist | Truist's first open banking integration connects first to Mastercard's open finance technology, giving clients tokenized access without sharing usernames or passwords | February 12, 2026[6] |
| U.S. reach | Mastercard Open Finance powers more than 10,000 services and apps in the U.S. | July 15, 2026[5] |
| Equifax | Cashflow Analytics, Payment Risk Insights and Transaction Report from Mastercard Open Finance offered to Equifax's lender customers alongside its credit file | October 16, 2026[7] |
Where does Mastercard's open banking power account-to-account payments?
| Partner or product | What it does | Date |
|---|---|---|
| J.P. Morgan Payments Pay-by-bank | Live in the U.S. for billers' recurring payments such as rent, utilities and healthcare, using Mastercard's open banking technology over ACH; Verizon planned a pilot | October 20, 2023[8] |
| Cardstream (UK) | White-label platform lets acquirers and payment facilitators offer open banking payments, supporting single immediate payments and preparing for commercial variable recurring payments | May 2025[10] |
| Deutsche Bank | Mastercard's open banking technology integrated into Deutsche Bank's Merchant Solutions Request to Pay service, offering Pay by Bank to merchants | June 3, 2025[9] |
| Mastercard Account-to-Account Protect | Fraud prevention combined with a new dispute resolution framework for account-to-account payments | 2025[4][15] |
| Paytently | Paytently Open Banking, powered by Mastercard Open Finance, adds pay-from-bank at checkout with routing over the most effective rail | September 2025[11] |
| Interchecks (U.S.) | Interchecks' Pay by Bank uses Mastercard Open Finance verification tools for recurring and high-volume ACH payments such as brokerage funding, subscriptions and insurance | December 17, 2025[16] |
What has Mastercard said about open banking rules and data fees, and what is not disclosed?
In a June 2024 guide Mastercard said its principles "align with the tenets of CFPB rulemaking" under section 1033, which the CFPB had worked on since 2016 and proposed in October 2023. In September 2024 it said the rule's aims matched its Data & Tech Responsibility Principles, launched in 2019, and cited the CFPB's estimate that at least 100 million Americans had let a third party access their account data.[12][17]
When JPMorgan Chase sent data aggregators pricing sheets for API access in July 2025, The Financial Brand listed Mastercard Finicity among the major aggregators affected. Mastercard has not disclosed whether it pays JPMorgan or other banks for data access.[18]
In the CFPB's 2025 reconsideration of the rule, Mastercard's letter was largely supportive of the current rule but urged more specificity on data terms and usage, and said regulators should "set standards for denial of access based on information security concerns", per Payments Dive's October 23, 2025 report.[13]
Outside the U.S., Mastercard points to regulation as the driver: PSD2 and the Payment Services Regulation in Europe and the UK, and Brazil's open finance framework, where it cites 4.8 billion API calls in June 2023, four times the UK. In July 2026 it listed PSD3, the PSR, the EU's Financial Data Access regulation and the UK Data Use and Access Act as expanding consumer data rights.[19][5]
The FY2025 10-K places open finance among its "other solutions" in services, names it as a data source for its AI products, and says regulatory initiatives could increase competition in open finance. What is not disclosed: open finance revenue, the number of bank connections by market, Pay by Bank transaction volumes, and terms of any data-access fee agreements with banks.[4]
What does the Mastercard profile record on this topic?
The rows below are the entries of the Mastercard AI strategy profile that bear on this page, as of Oct 22, 2026; the profile holds the full record of 18 dated moves, 10 use cases and 25 sources.
| Use case | What the record shows | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Large tabular foundation model | Transaction foundation model trained on billions of anonymized transactions with Nvidia and Databricks; being tested for hybrid cybersecurity and fraud systems and to reduce the thousands of separate models Mastercard maintains. | Pilot | [20] |
| Enterprise AI governance | A Data and AI organisation under the chief AI and data officer governs AI across the enterprise; Mastercard applies its Data and Tech Responsibility Principles and says models must be explainable, governed and continuously monitored. | In production | [21][22][4] |
| Agentic transaction probability score | A new Agent Pay signal, rolling out for testing in the US, estimates the likelihood that a transaction was initiated by an AI agent so issuers can approve legitimate agent-led purchases with more confidence; built with a Cloudflare data partnership and Skyfire's Know-Your-Agent verification. | Pilot | [23] |
| Date | Move | Detail | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 30, 2026 | Agent Pay Trust Framework and new trust and intelligence services | Mastercard published a "Trust for agentic commerce" white paper introducing the Mastercard Agent Pay Trust Framework (five pillars: identity, intent, controls, trusted execution and intelligence) and added new trust and intelligence services to Agent Pay: a probability score estimating whether a transaction was AI-initiated, rolling out for testing in the US, plus a privacy-preserving data partnership with Cloudflare and a partnership with Skyfire to extend Know-Your-Agent verification into Agent Pay. Ann Johnson, EVP of Security Solutions, said "AI agents will make commerce more intuitive, efficient and personal — but only if people and businesses can trust the systems acting on their behalf." | [23][24] |
| Sep 28, 2026 | Advanced B2B Analytics for supplier payments | Mastercard launched Advanced B2B Analytics, a card-acceptance analytics platform that uses dynamic acceptance propensity scoring built on an AI-powered infrastructure to show issuers and corporate clients which suppliers are likeliest to accept card payments; Absa Group and Emirates NBD are among the first issuers to offer it. Mastercard points to an approximately $80 trillion addressable B2B payments opportunity, and Marc Pettican, global head of Corporate Solutions, said businesses "are sitting on vast amounts of payment data, but too often it remains fragmented and underutilized." | [25] |
| Mar 17, 2026 | Large tabular foundation model disclosed | Mastercard describes a generative foundation model trained on billions of anonymized transactions with Nvidia and Databricks; early tests beat standard machine-learning techniques on rare legitimate purchases, and cybersecurity is the first target. | [20] |
| Apr 9, 2024 | Data and AI organisation created | A company realignment creates a Data and AI organisation led by Greg Ulrich as chief AI and data officer, covering commercialisation of internal and external AI applications and enterprise-wide governance. | [21] |
| Feb 1, 2024 | Decision Intelligence Pro announced | Mastercard applies generative AI to its Decision Intelligence fraud-scoring service, which already scores 143 billion transactions a year; DI Pro scans one trillion data points and returns a score in under 50 milliseconds. Mastercard says initial modelling shows fraud detection up 20% on average. | [26] |
Does Mastercard own Finicity?
Yes. Mastercard completed its acquisition of Finicity, a North American provider of real-time access to financial data, on November 19, 2020; a 2021 Mastercard article put the price at $825 million. Mastercard Open Finance solutions in the U.S. are provided by Finicity, and Mastercard says they power more than 10,000 services and apps.
What is Mastercard's position on the CFPB 1033 open banking rule?
Supportive with caveats. Mastercard said in 2024 that its data principles align with the rule. In the CFPB's 2025 reconsideration it was largely supportive of the current rule, Payments Dive reported, while asking for more specificity on data terms and usage and for standards on denying access over information security concerns.
Does Mastercard offer Pay by Bank?
Yes, mostly through partners. J.P. Morgan's Pay-by-bank for U.S. billers runs on Mastercard's open banking technology and went live in October 2023, and Interchecks uses Mastercard Open Finance for U.S. Pay by Bank. In Europe, Deutsche Bank, Cardstream and Paytently offer open banking payments built on Mastercard's technology.
Which banks connect to Mastercard's open banking platform?
Named examples include Truist, whose first direct open banking API integration in February 2026 was with Mastercard, J.P. Morgan for Pay-by-bank, and Deutsche Bank for merchant payments. In Europe, Aiia brought connections to more than 2,700 banks in 2021. Mastercard does not publish a full list or current counts by market.
How big is Mastercard's open banking business?
Mastercard does not say in dollars. Its FY2025 10-K reports open finance inside services revenue without a separate figure. Disclosed indicators are qualitative or old: more than 10,000 U.S. services and apps powered (July 2026) and Aiia's 2021 counts of 10 million monthly bank logins and a million account-to-account payments a month.
- Mastercard expands open banking reach with acquisition of Aiia
- Mastercard Extends Open Banking Efforts with Close of Finicity Acquisition
- Q&A with Finicity CEO: On open banking and financial opportunities for all
- Mastercard Incorporated Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2025
- What is open finance? Your essential guide
- Truist launches secure open banking experience
- Equifax expands access to cash flow data solutions for confident decisioning
- J.P. Morgan and Mastercard take Pay-by-bank live
- Deutsche Bank and Mastercard partner to power merchant solutions with open banking payments
- Cardstream and Mastercard partner to advance open banking payments in the UK
- Paytently and Mastercard Partner to Launch Next-Generation Open Banking Payment Solution
- A Guide to the CFPB 1033 Rule
- CFPB deluged with open banking comments
- bunq first bank in Europe to leverage AI in open banking with Mastercard
- Prevent, Protect and Recover: Mastercard strengthens trust in Account-to-Account payments
- Interchecks and Mastercard partner to advance account-to-account payments through Open Finance
- Your data, your decision, our duty (The new open banking rule and responsible data practices)
- Chase Wants to Be Paid for Data Fintechs Need to Survive
- The Future of Open Banking: Open Finance Trends
- Meet Mastercard's new generative AI model
- Positioning Mastercard for the next era of growth
- AI is easy to celebrate. It's much harder to run
- Mastercard advances agentic commerce with new trust and intelligence services
- What is agentic commerce trust? Inside Mastercard's new framework
- Mastercard launches AI-powered B2B analytics for supplier payments
- Mastercard supercharges consumer protection with gen AI
When Mastercard moves on AI, you'll read it here first.
when a bank, fintech or regulator moves on AI, it is in the next morning's brief · six sourced stories · 7 am PT · free
plus every regulation, bank and agent page update, the morning after · leave any morning