Sells core processing, digital banking, payments and fraud tools to community and regional banks and credit unions under long-term processing and hosting contracts, and in 2026 is building AI features and agents on Google Cloud's Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform.
What is Jack Henry, and which banks use it?
Jack Henry & Associates (Nasdaq: JKHY), Monett, Missouri, founded 1976, supplies core, digital, payments and fraud technology to about 7,400 community banks and credit unions. Its AI includes machine-learning fraud scoring in Financial Crimes Defender and Payrailz, AI Assist for Banno support conversations, and a Google Cloud agentic security platform announced June 2026. None of our 100 banks is a sourced customer of its AI. Pricing is not published; the 10-K describes fixed or transaction-based, often tiered, fees.
Category
Founded
1976
Headquarters
Monett, Missouri, US
Ownership
Jack Henry & Associates, Inc., listed on the Nasdaq Global Select Market as JKHY and an S&P 500 company; Greg Adelson is president and CEO, succeeding David Foss (CEO 2016–2024), who retired from the board in July 2026.[1][2][3]
Deployment
Private cloud (hosted), public cloud or on-premises core and processing services; digital banking as SaaS
Pricing
Long-term processing, hosting and licence contracts; service fees fixed or variable by volume, often tiered, billed monthly (per the 10-K). · not published
Banks among the 100
0
- Jack Henry says about 7,400 community banks and credit unions depend on it (June 2026); Forbes reports it is the core system of record for about 1,700 of them, and its Chief Data and AI Officer says 'we're the core providers for about 20% of the United States'.
- In June 2026 Jack Henry expanded its 2022 Google Cloud relationship to build a proprietary AI security platform with Google's agentic defense products, Mandiant consulting and the Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform, and to run Gemini-based operational use cases.
- Financial Crimes Defender uses machine learning and behavioral analytics to score transactions for fraud such as romance scams; the Payrailz payments platform, per the 10-K, includes 'an automated fraud feature powered by machine learning'.
- AI Assist with Conversations suggests answers for support staff, offers after-hours self-service to account holders and translates messages, according to a May 2025 Jack Henry article.
- Keith Fulton, Chief Data and AI Officer, told Forbes in July 2026 that Jack Henry's systems hold data on 244 million account holders and that his team is building consortium-style fraud, attrition and small-business-lead models from it; about 100 employee-built AI apps passed its internal vetting pipeline in four months.
- Jack Henry's 2026 survey of institutions found AI (48%) the top planned technology investment for the first time.
- Reversal: on August 31, 2026 Jack Henry disclosed a cybersecurity incident, begun by a voice-phishing attack attributed to ShinyHunters, in a non-production corporate environment; PII for fewer than 10 clients was affected and it refused an extortion demand.
What does Jack Henry sell to banks?
| Product | What it does | Status |
|---|---|---|
| AI security platform (with Google Cloud)[3][8] | A proprietary security platform built on Google Cloud's agentic defense products, Mandiant consulting and Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform, covering Jack Henry's environment across Google Cloud, other clouds and on-premises infrastructure. | Announced |
| Gemini-based operational AI use cases[3] | AI-assisted tools for customer-service teams, analytics for insights and reporting, and automation of routine administrative tasks, for Jack Henry employees and its client institutions. | Limited availability |
| Financial Crimes Defender[6] | Fraud and financial-crimes platform that uses machine learning and behavioral analytics to score transactions, flagging patterns such as romance-scam transfers; models refine themselves as new fraud patterns appear, per Jack Henry. | Generally available |
| AI Assist with Conversations (Banno)[7] | Suggested-answer tool for support staff in Banno's messaging, with after-hours self-service for account holders and message translation. | Generally available |
| Payrailz Payments Platform[1] | Cloud-native money-movement platform that, per the 10-K, uses AI for predictive and proactive recommendations and a machine-learning automated fraud feature. | Generally available |
How much does Jack Henry cost?
How it is charged: Long-term processing, hosting and licence contracts; service fees fixed or variable by volume, often tiered, billed monthly (per the 10-K)..
Jack Henry does not publish a price list.
- Jack Henry's 10-K: fees for processing services 'may be fixed or variable (based upon performing an unspecified quantity of services), and pricing may include tiered pricing structures'; clients are typically billed monthly for transactions processed. Processing revenue was $1.096 billion, 43% of total revenue, in fiscal 2026. No price for AI features is disclosed. (Jun 30, 2026)[1]
Pricing is not published; Jack Henry sells through negotiated multi-year contracts. Its 10-K describes the fee model but not prices, and it has not disclosed what it charges for Financial Crimes Defender, AI Assist or the Google-based AI features.
Which banks use Jack Henry?
None of the 100 largest US banks covered on this site is publicly named as a Jack Henry customer as of Sep 24, 2026. Customers the company names are listed in the key points above.
Among the 100 largest US banks on this site, from sources that name the bank: the bank, Jack Henry or the press. Status is the furthest stage a source confirms.
What is Jack Henry AI on Google Cloud (Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform)?
An expansion, announced June 25, 2026, of a Google Cloud relationship begun in 2022: a proprietary AI security platform built with Google's agentic defense products and Mandiant, plus Gemini-based use cases for customer-service support, insights and reporting, and automating routine tasks (early adopters report time savings of up to 70%, per Jack Henry).[3]
What has Jack Henry done, and when?
- Aug 31, 2026
Cybersecurity incident disclosed[4]
A vishing attack attributed to ShinyHunters reached a non-production corporate environment; PII for fewer than 10 clients was affected, no client-facing systems were disrupted, and Jack Henry refused to pay an extortion demand.
- Aug 28, 2026
Fiscal 2026 10-K[1]
Jack Henry reports fiscal 2026 revenue up 7.1% and lists harnessing AI to boost internal efficiency and client benefits among its strategies.
- Jul 30, 2026
Defender's ML scam scoring[6]
Jack Henry describes Financial Crimes Defender's machine-learning and behavioral-analytics scoring of romance-scam transactions.
- Jul 28, 2026
Chief Data and AI Officer's plans[9]
Keith Fulton describes consortium fraud, attrition and small-business-lead models built on data covering 244 million account holders, and an internal pipeline that vetted about 100 employee-built apps in four months.
- Jul 14, 2026
American Banker: which standard applies?[8]
American Banker reports that the April 2026 interagency model-risk guidance excludes generative and agentic AI, leaving unclear what standard examiners would apply to Jack Henry's agentic platform.
- Jun 25, 2026
Google Cloud AI security expansion[3]
Jack Henry announces a proprietary AI security platform built with Google Cloud's agentic defense products, Mandiant and Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform, plus Gemini-based operational use cases.
- May 29, 2026
Former CEO Foss to leave board[2]
David Foss, board chair since 2021 and CEO from 2016 to 2024, gives notice he will retire from the board effective July 15, 2026.
- Apr 28, 2026
Survey: AI tops planned tech investment[5]
Jack Henry's annual survey of financial institutions finds AI (48%) the top planned technology investment for the first time.
- May 15, 2025
AI Assist with Conversations described[7]
Jack Henry describes AI Assist, which suggests answers to support staff, gives account holders after-hours help and translates messages.
- Jan 1, 2022
Google Cloud relationship begins[3]
Jack Henry and Google Cloud establish the strategic relationship later expanded to AI (year disclosed, date not).
- Jan 1, 1976
Company founded[1]
Jack Henry is founded in 1976 as a provider of core processing for banks (exact date not given in the filing).
What do banks use Jack Henry for?
| Use | What it does | Status | Use case |
|---|---|---|---|
| Machine-learning transaction fraud scoring[6][1] | Financial Crimes Defender and the Payrailz platform score transactions and money movement for fraud patterns, including scams. | In production | Fraud detection |
| AI Assist in Banno conversations[7] | Suggested answers for support staff, after-hours self-service for account holders and translation within digital-banking messaging. | In production | Customer-facing chatbots |
| Agentic AI security platform[3] | Google Cloud agentic defense and Mandiant tools to analyze telemetry and detect threats earlier across Jack Henry's environment serving its clients. | Announced | Cybersecurity |
| Gemini-based operational agents[3] | Customer-service support, reporting and routine-task automation on Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform; Jack Henry reports early-adopter time savings of up to 70%. | Pilot | Generative & agentic AI |
| Fourth-party AI through the core provider[8] | Banks using these features rely on Google as Jack Henry's subcontractor, with no direct contract with the AI vendor. | Announced | Third-party & vendor AI |
What has Jack Henry disclosed in numbers?
| Metric | Value | As of |
|---|---|---|
| Client institutions (company-reported) | approximately 7,400 banks and credit unions[3] | Jun 25, 2026 |
| Core clients (as reported by Forbes) | about 1,700 community banks and credit unions[9] | Jul 28, 2026 |
| Account holders in Jack Henry systems (company-reported) | 244 million[9] | Jul 28, 2026 |
| Fiscal 2026 revenue growth | 7.1%; processing revenue $1.096 billion (43% of total)[1] | Jun 30, 2026 |
| Time savings from Gemini-based task automation (vendor-reported, early adopters) | up to 70%[3] | Jun 25, 2026 |
| Institutions naming AI as top planned tech investment (Jack Henry survey) | 48%[5] | Apr 28, 2026 |
“By automating the analysis of large volumes of telemetry data, we can identify potential threats earlier and enable faster, coordinated responses before vulnerabilities are exploited.”[3]
Greg Adelson · President and CEO, Jack Henry · Jun 25, 2026
“If we can bring AI features and agentic capabilities and help our banks get there, then we can change the way banking is done in the United States.”[9]
Keith Fulton · Chief Data and AI Officer, Jack Henry · Jul 28, 2026
Who runs Jack Henry?
Which rules apply to a bank using Jack Henry?
| Authority | Why it matters here | Documents |
|---|---|---|
| Federal Reserve | SR 23-4 makes a bank responsible for its core provider's risks, including Google as Jack Henry's subcontractor; SR 26-2 covers Jack Henry's ML fraud models but explicitly excludes generative and agentic AI, leaving the Gemini agents to the bank's broader risk management. | SR 23-4 SR 26-2 |
| OCC | OCC Bulletin 2023-17 applies to a critical core relationship, and OCC Bulletin 2026-13 carries the model-risk guidance for vendor fraud-scoring models such as Financial Crimes Defender's. | OCC Bulletin 2023-17 OCC Bulletin 2026-13 |
| FDIC | Most Jack Henry banks are FDIC-supervised community banks, which manage the core, its AI features and its AI subcontractors under the interagency third-party guidance. | FDIC FIL-29-2023 |
| NCUA | Jack Henry's Symitar and digital products serve many credit unions, whose use of vendor AI falls under the NCUA's AI examination focus. | NCUA Board AI briefing (Jul 2025) |
Linked authorities have a page in the AI Regulation Tracker; the others are named for completeness.
What should a bank note before buying Jack Henry?
Analysis by BankingNewsAI from the sources cited on this page. Observations, not advice or a recommendation.
01
The agentic work is mostly announced
Financial Crimes Defender's ML scoring and AI Assist are in use; the Google-based AI security platform was announced in June 2026, and the Gemini operational use cases report early-adopter results only.
02
A fourth party sits behind the AI
Jack Henry's newest AI runs on Google Cloud, Gemini and Mandiant; a bank contracts with Jack Henry, not Google, which American Banker notes leaves the bank owning risks of a vendor it has no contract with.
03
Pricing is not published
The 10-K describes fixed or volume-based, often tiered fees billed monthly; no price for AI features has been disclosed.
04
Security incident in the record
The August 2026 incident touched a non-production environment and fewer than 10 clients' PII, per Jack Henry; buyers evaluating its AI security platform may weigh the company's own disclosure.
05
Few large-bank references
Jack Henry supports core clients up to $55 billion in assets; none of the 100 banks on our list is named as using its AI, and its public AI examples come from community institutions.
What are the alternatives to Jack Henry?
Fiserv
Core, card and payments provider adding AI to its platforms: agentOS agents for bank workflows, AI card-fraud decisioning.
FIS
Core, digital and card-processing provider adding AI agents (an Anthropic-built AML agent), AI card-fraud tools and AI lending tools.
Q2
Digital banking, fraud (Centrix) and relationship-pricing platform for US banks, with an AI agent layer (Q2 Assistant) and ML fraud models.
Alkami
Digital banking, account opening (MANTL) and data-marketing platform for US banks and credit unions, with predictive AI models.
nCino
Cloud lending and onboarding platform for banks with gen-AI (Banking Advisor), role-based AI agents (Digital Partners) and credit analytics.
Temenos
Swiss core, digital, payments and wealth banking software with embedded AI copilots, a sanctions-screening AI agent and explainable AI.
Backbase
AI-native Banking OS layered over a bank's core for channels, staff and AI agents; owns Kasisto's conversational AI since June 2026.
How much does Jack Henry cost?
Jack Henry does not publish prices. Its 10-K says processing-service fees may be fixed or variable by volume and may use tiered pricing, with clients typically billed monthly for transactions processed; processing was 43% of fiscal 2026 revenue. It has not disclosed separate prices for Financial Crimes Defender, AI Assist or its Google-based AI features.
What AI does Jack Henry offer banks?
Jack Henry sells Financial Crimes Defender, which uses machine learning and behavioral analytics to score transactions for fraud; AI Assist, which suggests answers and translates messages in Banno digital-banking conversations; and ML fraud features in its Payrailz payments platform. In June 2026 it announced a Google Cloud-based agentic AI security platform and Gemini-based tools for support, reporting and routine tasks.
Which banks use Jack Henry's AI?
None of the 100 largest US banks tracked on this site is named with a source as using Jack Henry's AI. Jack Henry serves about 7,400 community banks and credit unions and supports core clients up to $55 billion in assets, so its AI customers are mostly smaller institutions not on our list.
Who owns Jack Henry?
Jack Henry & Associates is a public company on the Nasdaq Global Select Market (JKHY) and in the S&P 500, headquartered in Monett, Missouri, and founded in 1976. Greg Adelson is president and CEO; former CEO David Foss retired from the board in July 2026.
Is Jack Henry regulated like a bank?
Jack Henry is not a bank, but as a bank service provider its services are subject to examination by federal banking regulators under the Bank Service Company Act, and it says its operations are governed by the same regulatory requirements as those imposed on financial institutions. Its bank clients remain responsible for managing it as a third party.
Jack Henry vs Fiserv: how do their AI plans differ?
Both are large US core providers. Jack Henry's 2026 AI plan runs on Google Cloud (agentic security, Gemini-based operational tools), while Fiserv's agentOS, launched in May 2026, is built with OpenAI and co-developed with named banks. Jack Henry's clients are community institutions; neither publishes AI pricing.
- Jack Henry & Associates, Inc. Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended June 30, 2026
- Jack Henry & Associates, Inc. Form 8-K (David B. Foss to retire from the Board)
- Jack Henry and Google Cloud Expand Collaboration to Deliver AI-Driven Security for Banks and Credit Unions
- Jack Henry Issues Statement on Response to Cybersecurity Incident
- Jack Henry's Annual Survey of Financial Institutions Highlights Priorities Amid Economic Uncertainty and a New Hybrid Monetary Era
- Fighting Romance Scams with People, AI, and Behavioral Analytics
- The Future of Data Analytics and AI in Financial Services
- Jack Henry is using Google AI to defend 7,400 institutions
- Jack Henry Is Sitting On A Data Asset Most Banks Can Only Dream Of
When a bank signs with Jack Henry, you'll read it here first.
when a bank picks an AI vendor, or a vendor ships for banks, it is in the next morning's brief · six sourced stories · 7 am ET · free
plus every tracker, bank and agent page update, the morning after · leave any morning