Sells banks and credit unions a subscription digital-banking platform priced on solutions bought and registered users, plus risk-and-fraud and relationship-pricing products, and in 2026 began embedding AI agents (Q2 Assistant) and an AI coding tool (Q2 Code) into that platform.
What is Q2, and which banks use it?
Q2 Holdings (NYSE: QTWO), Austin, Texas, sells digital banking, fraud and relationship-pricing software to more than 1,200 banks and credit unions. Its AI includes machine-learning check-fraud detection (Enhanced Payee Match, 2024), AI account-takeover monitoring, and, from June 2026, Q2 Assistant, an agent layer whose first Customer Care Agent is generally available. Q2 says more than half of the top 100 US banks use its products, but none of our 100 is named as an AI customer. Pricing is not published; filings describe pricing by solutions and registered users.
Category
Founded
2005
Headquarters
Austin, Texas, US
Ownership
Q2 Holdings, Inc., listed on the New York Stock Exchange and NYSE Texas as QTWO; incorporated in Delaware in March 2005 as CBG Holdings and renamed Q2 Holdings in March 2013. Matt Flake is chairman, president and CEO.[1][2]
Deployment
SaaS (subscription; risk and fraud tools also sold standalone to institutions not on the Q2 platform)
Pricing
Subscription, priced by the number of solutions bought and the number of registered users, with extra fees for users and transactions above the standard subscription (per the 10-K). · not published
Banks among the 100
0
- Q2 had more than 1,200 financial-institution customers at December 31, 2025, including 'more than 50% of the top 100 U.S. Banks' by assets, and 457 installed digital banking platform customers with about 27.3 million registered users.
- Q2 Assistant (launched June 2, 2026) is a conversational layer across Q2 products that routes work to product-specific agents; the first, a Customer Care Agent for login, password, transaction and user-activity cases, is available now, and agents for fraud operations and relationship pricing are in development for 2026.
- Early adopters named for Q2 Assistant are Stanford Federal Credit Union and VeraBank; Stanford FCU says one request that took over two hours was answered in under a minute (customer-reported).
- Q2's machine-learning check-fraud feature, Enhanced Payee Match (launched June 2024), detected three times more suspected fraud on protected accounts than on accounts without it, in Q2's own first-year comparison.
- User Activity Monitoring, which Q2 says uses AI to detect and intervene on account compromise in real time, had 'double-digit early-adopter customers' by July 2026; Q2 is also rebuilding Centrix Dispute Management as an 'AI-native platform'.
- Q2 Code, an AI development environment for building on the Q2 platform, runs on Anthropic models through AWS Bedrock, according to Q2.
- Reversal: Q2's shares had fallen 52% over the year to $42.58 by June 22, 2026, when JPMorgan cut its target to $60 from $80 while saying 'AI-defensibility concerns appear overstated'.
What does Q2 sell to banks?
| Product | What it does | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Q2 Assistant (Customer Care Agent)[3] | Unified AI assistant embedded in Q2 products that answers questions and runs tasks through product-specific agents; the Customer Care Agent in Q2 Console diagnoses login failures, password resets, transaction inquiries and user-activity investigations. | Generally available |
| Enhanced Payee Match (Centrix ETMS Positive Pay)[4] | Machine-learning reading of typed and handwritten checks to detect check fraud in Q2's Centrix Positive Pay product; sold to Q2 platform customers and to institutions not on the platform. | Generally available |
| User Activity Monitoring[2][6] | Account-takeover detection that Q2 says uses AI and 30 behavioral detectors per session to detect and intervene on potential compromise in real time. | Limited availability |
| Q2 Code[5][2] | Governed AI development environment that generates Q2-native code from natural language, powered by Anthropic models through AWS Bedrock with Q2 guardrails; demonstrated at CONNECT 26. | Announced |
| Centrix Dispute Management[6] | Dispute-handling product that Q2 says is being rebuilt as an AI-native platform, part of its connected fraud-intelligence platform. | Announced |
| Q2 Digital Banking Platform[1][6] | Retail, small-business and commercial online and mobile banking, with an SDK and Innovation Studio for third-party integrations (partners include BioCatch and Plaid). | Generally available |
How much does Q2 cost?
How it is charged: Subscription, priced by the number of solutions bought and the number of registered users, with extra fees for users and transactions above the standard subscription (per the 10-K)..
Q2 does not publish a price list.
- Q2's 10-K: 'We generally price our digital banking platform solutions based on the number of solutions purchased by our customers and the number of Registered Users', plus additional revenue from users and transactions above what the standard subscription fee includes; initial platform agreements average over five years. No separate price for AI features is disclosed. (Dec 31, 2025)[1]
Pricing is not published; Q2 sells through sales-led multi-year subscriptions. Its 10-K describes the pricing model but gives no list prices, and Q2 has not disclosed what Q2 Assistant, Q2 Code or its AI fraud features cost.
Which banks use Q2?
None of the 100 largest US banks covered on this site is publicly named as a Q2 customer as of Sep 24, 2026. Customers the company names are listed in the key points above.
Among the 100 largest US banks on this site, from sources that name the bank: the bank, Q2 or the press. Status is the furthest stage a source confirms.
What is Q2 Digital Banking Platform with Q2 Assistant?
Retail and commercial digital banking used by 457 installed customers with about 27.3 million registered users (end-2025). Q2 Assistant, launched June 2, 2026, adds a conversational layer across Q2 products that hands tasks to product-specific agents, starting with a Customer Care Agent for support teams; Q2 says customer data is isolated and never used to train shared models.[1][3]
What has Q2 done, and when?
- Jul 29, 2026
Q2 2026: AI demand, ARR $825.5 million[2]
Q2 reports revenue of $219.8 million (up 13%), subscription ARR of $825.5 million (up 15%), double-digit early adopters of AI-based User Activity Monitoring, and retirement of its convertible notes.
- Jun 22, 2026
Share slide and target cut[8]
JPMorgan cuts its Q2 target to $60 from $80 after the shares fell 52% over the prior year to $42.58, while calling AI-defensibility concerns overstated.
- Jun 10, 2026
Connected fraud-platform plan[6]
Q2 sets out a detect-intercept-resolve fraud platform in which Sentinel and User Activity Monitoring models can decide transactions at authorization and Centrix Dispute Management is rebuilt as AI-native.
- Jun 2, 2026
Q2 Assistant launches[3]
Q2 launches Q2 Assistant with a generally available Customer Care Agent; Stanford FCU and VeraBank piloted it, and fraud-operations and relationship-pricing agents are planned for 2026.
- Apr 16, 2026
Q2 Code described[5]
Q2 describes Q2 Code, a governed AI development environment for generating Q2-native code, powered by Anthropic models through AWS Bedrock.
- Feb 11, 2026
10-K: more than 1,200 institution customers[1]
Q2's annual report counts more than 1,200 financial-institution customers, 457 installed digital banking customers and about 27.3 million registered users at end-2025.
- Oct 23, 2025
Conversational banking assistant demo[7]
At its 2025 Dev Days Q2 demonstrates a proof-of-concept AI assistant for account holders and service staff, built on its Caliper API layer and model context protocol (MCP).
- Sep 4, 2025
Payee Match first-year results[4]
Q2 reports that institutions using Enhanced Payee Match detected three times more suspected fraud on protected accounts than on accounts without it (vendor-reported).
- Jun 1, 2024
Enhanced Payee Match launched[4]
Q2 adds machine-learning check reading to its Centrix Positive Pay product to detect check fraud (month disclosed, day not).
- Mar 1, 2013
Renamed Q2 Holdings[1]
CBG Holdings changes its name to Q2 Holdings, Inc. in March 2013; it is headquartered in Austin, Texas.
- Mar 1, 2005
Incorporated as CBG Holdings[1]
The company is incorporated in Delaware in March 2005 under the name CBG Holdings, Inc. (day not disclosed).
What do banks use Q2 for?
| Use | What it does | Status | Use case |
|---|---|---|---|
| Q2 Assistant agents for bank staff[3] | Conversational assistant and task agents inside Q2's consoles; the first agent handles digital-banking support cases for customer-care teams, with humans kept in control of consequential actions. | In production | Generative & agentic AI |
| Machine-learning check-fraud detection[4] | Enhanced Payee Match reads typed and handwritten payee names to flag altered or counterfeit checks in Positive Pay. | In production | Fraud detection |
| AI account-takeover monitoring[2][6] | User Activity Monitoring scores digital-banking sessions for signs of compromise and can intervene in real time. | Rolling out | Fraud detection |
| Q2 Code for platform extensions[5] | Natural-language generation of Q2-native code for a bank's own digital-banking features, run on Anthropic models via AWS Bedrock. | Announced | AI-generated code & coding agents |
| Account-holder conversational banking (concept)[7] | A proof-of-concept assistant that answers account holders' questions using live account data through Q2's APIs; shown as a demo, not a released product. | Pilot | Customer-facing chatbots |
What has Q2 disclosed in numbers?
| Metric | Value | As of |
|---|---|---|
| Financial-institution customers (company-reported) | more than 1,200, including more than 50% of the top 100 US banks by assets[1] | Dec 31, 2025 |
| Installed digital banking customers and registered users | 457 customers; about 27.3 million registered users[1] | Dec 31, 2025 |
| Subscription annualized recurring revenue | $825.5 million, up 15% year over year[2] | Jun 30, 2026 |
| 2026 revenue guidance | $881.0 million to $886.0 million[2] | Jul 29, 2026 |
| Enhanced Payee Match fraud detection (vendor-reported) | 3x more suspected fraud detected on protected accounts than on unprotected ones, first year[4] | Sep 4, 2025 |
| Share-price change (reported) | down 52% over the prior year, to $42.58[8] | Jun 22, 2026 |
“Banks and credit unions don’t need more disconnected AI tools. They need intelligence embedded where work already happens.”[3]
Adam Blue · Chief Technology Officer, Q2 · Jun 2, 2026
“Q2 Assistant gives our people the ability to solve repetitive tasks faster so they can turn their attention to the high-value work that actually grows the customer relationship.”[3]
Michael Purifoy · SEVP, Chief Treasury and Digital Banking Officer, VeraBank · Jun 2, 2026
Who runs Q2?
Which rules apply to a bank using Q2?
| Authority | Why it matters here | Documents |
|---|---|---|
| OCC | Q2 runs customer-facing digital banking and fraud controls for many banks; OCC Bulletin 2023-17 applies to that relationship, and OCC Bulletin 2026-13 covers the vendor ML models (check-fraud, account-takeover) a bank relies on. | OCC Bulletin 2023-17 OCC Bulletin 2026-13 |
| Federal Reserve | Fed-supervised banks using Q2's fraud models and Q2 Assistant agents manage them as third-party models and services under SR 26-2 and SR 23-4; SR 26-2 leaves generative and agentic AI largely to enterprise risk management. | SR 26-2 SR 23-4 |
| FDIC | Q2's customer base is weighted to community banks; FDIC-supervised banks manage its platform and embedded AI under the interagency third-party guidance. | FDIC FIL-29-2023 |
| CFPB | A bank that lets an assistant built on Q2's conversational concept answer account holders directly would face the consumer-protection issues the CFPB set out for chatbots in consumer finance. | CFPB Chatbots in Consumer Finance (issue spotlight, 2023) |
Linked authorities have a page in the AI Regulation Tracker; the others are named for completeness.
What should a bank note before buying Q2?
Analysis by BankingNewsAI from the sources cited on this page. Observations, not advice or a recommendation.
01
Generally available versus announced
The Customer Care Agent and Enhanced Payee Match are available; User Activity Monitoring had early adopters by July 2026; Q2 Code, the AI-native dispute rebuild, fraud and pricing agents, and the account-holder assistant were announced, planned or demonstrated.
02
Staff-facing before customer-facing
Q2's released generative-AI product serves bank employees (support teams, developers); the account-holder conversational assistant was shown as a proof of concept.
03
Results are vendor- or customer-reported
The 3x check-fraud detection figure is Q2's comparison of protected versus unprotected accounts, and the two-hours-to-one-minute example comes from one pilot credit union.
04
Pricing is not published
Q2's 10-K describes pricing by solutions and registered users on multi-year contracts; no price for the AI features has been disclosed.
05
Large-bank use is stated but unnamed
Q2 says more than half of the top 100 US banks use at least one of its solutions and signed AI-adjacent relationship-pricing deals with unnamed Top 25 and Tier 1 banks in Q2 2026, but no bank on our list is named as using its AI.
What are the alternatives to Q2?
Alkami
Digital banking, account opening (MANTL) and data-marketing platform for US banks and credit unions, with predictive AI models.
Jack Henry
Core, digital (Banno), payments and fraud platforms for community banks and credit unions, adding AI via Google Cloud's Gemini.
Fiserv
Core, card and payments provider adding AI to its platforms: agentOS agents for bank workflows, AI card-fraud decisioning.
FIS
Core, digital and card-processing provider adding AI agents (an Anthropic-built AML agent), AI card-fraud tools and AI lending tools.
nCino
Cloud lending and onboarding platform for banks with gen-AI (Banking Advisor), role-based AI agents (Digital Partners) and credit analytics.
Backbase
AI-native Banking OS layered over a bank's core for channels, staff and AI agents; owns Kasisto's conversational AI since June 2026.
Temenos
Swiss core, digital, payments and wealth banking software with embedded AI copilots, a sanctions-screening AI agent and explainable AI.
How much does Q2 cost?
Q2 does not publish prices. Its 10-K says it generally prices digital-banking solutions by the number of solutions a customer buys and the number of registered users, with extra fees for users and transactions above the subscription's included amounts, on initial agreements averaging over five years. Q2 has not disclosed what it charges for Q2 Assistant, Q2 Code or its AI fraud features.
What AI does Q2 offer banks?
Q2 Assistant, launched June 2026, is a conversational layer across Q2 products with a generally available Customer Care Agent for support teams. Q2 also sells machine-learning check-fraud detection (Enhanced Payee Match, launched 2024) and AI account-takeover monitoring (User Activity Monitoring), and has described Q2 Code, an AI development tool powered by Anthropic models on AWS Bedrock.
Which banks use Q2's AI?
Q2 names Stanford Federal Credit Union and VeraBank as early adopters of Q2 Assistant and Gulf Coast Bank as a user of Enhanced Payee Match. None of the 100 largest US banks tracked on this site is named with a source as using Q2's AI, although Q2's 10-K says more than half of the top 100 US banks use at least one Q2 solution.
Who owns Q2?
Q2 Holdings, Inc. is a public company whose shares trade on the New York Stock Exchange and NYSE Texas as QTWO. It was incorporated in 2005 as CBG Holdings and renamed in 2013, and is based in Austin, Texas. Matt Flake is chairman, president and CEO.
Is Q2 a bank?
No. Q2 is a software and services vendor to banks, credit unions, alternative lenders and fintechs. Its bank customers treat it as a third-party provider under their regulators' vendor-management and model-risk guidance.
Q2 vs Alkami: how do they differ?
Both sell digital-banking platforms to US banks and credit unions below the megabank tier, and both price largely by registered users. Q2's AI record includes an agent layer for bank staff (Q2 Assistant) and ML fraud models sold even to non-platform customers; Alkami's centers on predictive marketing models and a generative-AI coding tool in beta. Neither publishes prices.
- Q2 Holdings, Inc. Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2025
- Q2 Holdings, Inc. Announces Second Quarter 2026 Financial Results; Announced Additional $350 Million Share Repurchase Authorization (Exhibit 99.1)
- Q2 Launches Q2 Assistant, Embedding AI Agents Across Banking Operations
- Q2’s AI-Driven Enhanced Payee Match Detects 3x More Suspected Fraud For Customers In Its First Year
- Q2 Code: Practical AI for Financial Institutions
- From Disconnected Tools to Connected Intelligence: Q2’s Fraud Platform Vision
- Going Beyond Chat to Bring a Human Touch to Digital Banking
- JPMorgan cuts Q2 Holdings stock price target on valuation update
When a bank signs with Q2, you'll read it here first.
when a bank picks an AI vendor, or a vendor ships for banks, it is in the next morning's brief · six sourced stories · 7 am ET · free
plus every tracker, bank and agent page update, the morning after · leave any morning