Sells credit unions and community banks one platform for texting, video banking, secure chat and AI agents across service, lending and collections, and has grown by acquiring video (POPi/o), conversational-AI (Marsview) and collections (Lexop) companies.
What is Eltropy, and which banks use it?
Eltropy, founded in 2013 and based in Santa Clara, California, sells credit unions and community banks a platform for texting, video, chat and AI voice agents, with collections tools from its 2025 Lexop acquisition and, since March 2026, a governed platform for building AI agents. It says more than 700 institutions use it. It is private, backed by K1 Investment Management. None of our 100 banks is a named customer. Pricing is not published.
Category
Founded
2013
Headquarters
Santa Clara, California, US
Ownership
Private; its $25 million Series A in June 2021 was led by K1 Investment Management, with the credit-union-focused Curql Fund and CMFG Ventures (CUNA Mutual Group's investment arm). No valuation has been published.[1]
Deployment
SaaS (cloud communications platform for credit unions and community banks)
Pricing
Sales-led subscription; not published · not published
Banks among the 100
0
- Eltropy said in September 2022 it had grown from 10 to more than 500 community financial institutions in three years (about 450 credit unions and 50 banks, its CEO told American Banker), then reported more than 650 in January 2025 and more than 700 by January 2026 (vendor-reported).
- K1 Investment Management led a $25 million Series A in June 2021, joined by the Curql Fund and CMFG Ventures, both credit-union-focused investors.
- Eltropy acquired video-banking startup POPi/o (June 2022), conversational-AI company Marsview (August 2022) and collections-technology provider Lexop (January 2025); terms were not disclosed.
- American Banker described Eltropy in September 2022 as a contact-centre vendor that primarily served credit unions and was trying to raise its profile with community banks.
- In March 2026 Eltropy launched an agentic AI platform for credit unions that logs what each agent did and why, and restricts agents to set procedures, data boundaries and authentication rules.
- Customer results are vendor-reported, such as Cobalt Credit Union's 83% session containment with Eltropy AI Voice (January 2026).
- Pricing is not published.
What does Eltropy sell to banks?
| Product | What it does | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Agentic AI platform[9] | Governed platform, launched March 2026, for credit unions, fintechs and core providers to create, integrate, deploy and supervise AI agents under standard operating procedures and role-based controls. | Generally available |
| Eltropy AI Voice[8] | AI voice assistant for the contact centre that handles routine inquiries around the clock and hands off to staff, as deployed at Cobalt Credit Union. | Generally available |
| Conversational AI (from Marsview)[4] | Intent recognition across text, chat, video and voice to route consumers, automate tasks and answer common questions, added through the August 2022 Marsview acquisition. | Generally available |
| Video banking (from POPi/o)[3][6] | In-branch and remote video banking, video notary and virtual-branch capabilities, from the June 2022 POPi/o acquisition. | Generally available |
| Collections and payments (from Lexop)[7] | Self-serve loan repayment and digital collections tools for credit unions and community banks, from the January 2025 Lexop acquisition. | Generally available |
| Texting and secure chat[1][4] | Compliant two-way text messaging and secure chat for member service, lending and collections. | Generally available |
How much does Eltropy cost?
How it is charged: Sales-led subscription; not published.
Eltropy does not publish a price list.
Pricing is not published; no plan prices for Eltropy's platform, AI Voice or agentic AI products appear in the sources reviewed.
Which banks use Eltropy?
None of the 100 largest US banks covered on this site is publicly named as a Eltropy customer as of Sep 24, 2026. Customers the company names are listed in the key points above.
Among the 100 largest US banks on this site, from sources that name the bank: the bank, Eltropy or the press. Status is the furthest stage a source confirms.
What is Eltropy unified conversations and agentic AI platform?
A communications platform covering text, voice, video, secure chat and in-branch interactions, to which Eltropy added Marsview's conversational AI (2022), AI Voice agents, and in March 2026 a governed agentic AI platform on which credit unions, fintechs and core providers can build and supervise AI agents.[4][9][8]
What has Eltropy done, and when?
- Mar 2, 2026
Agentic AI platform launched[9]
A governed platform for credit unions to build and supervise AI agents with audit trails and procedure limits.
- Jan 6, 2026
Cobalt Credit Union deploys AI Voice[8]
Finovate reports Cobalt Credit Union's Eltropy AI Voice assistant reached an 83% session containment rate (vendor-announced).
- Jan 6, 2025
Acquires Lexop[7]
Collections and loan-repayment technology added; Eltropy reports more than 650 credit union and community bank customers.
- Sep 28, 2022
500 institutions[6]
Eltropy says it has grown from 10 to more than 500 credit unions and community banks in three years.
- Sep 6, 2022
Push into community banks[5]
American Banker reports the credit-union-focused vendor is bulking up through acquisitions to attract community banks.
- Aug 17, 2022
Acquires Marsview AI[4]
Adds conversational intelligence to automate intent recognition and routine answers across text, chat, video and voice.
- Jun 8, 2022
Acquires POPi/o[3]
Eltropy buys video-banking relationship startup POPi/o; terms not disclosed.
- Jun 23, 2021
$25 million Series A[1]
Led by K1 Investment Management with the Curql Fund and CMFG Ventures; Eltropy planned to more than double its headcount.
- Jul 12, 2016
Selling to the solar industry[2]
Eltropy launches customer portals for solar installers, before its later focus on financial institutions.
- Jan 1, 2013
Founded[5]
Eltropy was nine years old in September 2022, per American Banker, placing its founding in 2013 (exact date not disclosed).
What do banks use Eltropy for?
| Use | What it does | Status | Use case |
|---|---|---|---|
| AI voice and chat for member service[8][4] | AI Voice and conversational AI handle routine inquiries around the clock and pass complex cases to staff. | In production | Customer-facing chatbots |
| Governed AI agents[9] | The 2026 agentic platform lets institutions and partners deploy AI agents constrained by procedures, data boundaries and authentication, with an audit trail of each action. | Rolling out | Generative & agentic AI |
| Digital collections and repayment[7] | Texting and Lexop self-serve payment flows for loan repayment and early delinquency. | In production | Customer-facing chatbots |
| Single-vendor communications stack[4] | Eltropy positions one platform to replace several communication vendors for text, video, chat and voice. | In production | Third-party & vendor AI |
What has Eltropy disclosed in numbers?
| Metric | Value | As of |
|---|---|---|
| Credit union and community bank customers (vendor-reported) | more than 700[8] | Jan 6, 2026 |
| Customers at the Lexop acquisition (vendor-reported) | over 650 credit unions and community banks[7] | Jan 6, 2025 |
| Client mix (CEO statement) | about 450 credit unions and 50 banks[5] | Sep 6, 2022 |
| Series A | $25 million, led by K1 Investment Management[1] | Jun 23, 2021 |
| Cobalt Credit Union AI Voice (vendor-announced) | 83% session containment rate[8] | Jan 6, 2026 |
“This ensures Agentic AI is innovative but controlled, powerful but predictable, open but always safe.”[9]
Ashish Garg · CEO and co-founder, Eltropy · Mar 2, 2026
“The world needs a better way for people to pay their debt obligations.”[7]
Ashish Garg · CEO and co-founder, Eltropy · Jan 6, 2025
Who runs Eltropy?
Which rules apply to a bank using Eltropy?
| Authority | Why it matters here | Documents |
|---|---|---|
| CFPB | Eltropy's AI voice and chat agents answer consumers and its texting and Lexop tools are used in collections; the CFPB's 2023 chatbot spotlight holds the institution responsible for inaccurate answers and blocked access to a human. | CFPB Chatbots in Consumer Finance (issue spotlight, 2023) |
| NCUA | Most Eltropy customers are credit unions; the NCUA's 2025 board briefing on AI describes the supervisory lens for credit unions adopting vendor AI such as Eltropy's agents. | NCUA Board AI briefing (Jul 2025) |
| OCC | A hosted platform carrying member messages, video sessions and AI agents is a third-party relationship under the 2023 interagency guidance for the community banks that use it. | OCC Bulletin 2023-17 FDIC FIL-29-2023 |
| NIST | The agentic platform lets fintech partners deploy agents inside a credit union; NIST's Generative AI Profile covers the value-chain and information-security risks of such third-party components. | NIST AI 600-1 (Generative AI Profile) |
Linked authorities have a page in the AI Regulation Tracker; the others are named for completeness.
What should a bank note before buying Eltropy?
Analysis by BankingNewsAI from the sources cited on this page. Observations, not advice or a recommendation.
01
Its market is credit unions and community banks
Eltropy's customers are credit unions and community banks; none of the 100 largest US banks tracked here is named as a customer in an allowed source.
02
Pricing is not published
No plan prices appear in the sources reviewed; terms come from a sales conversation.
03
The platform is assembled from acquisitions
Video (POPi/o), conversational AI (Marsview) and collections (Lexop) came through acquisitions between 2022 and 2025, alongside Eltropy's texting product. In 2016 Eltropy was selling customer portals to the solar industry, before its focus on financial institutions.
04
Results are vendor-reported
Customer counts and outcomes such as Cobalt Credit Union's 83% containment come from Eltropy announcements repeated in trade press.
05
Agent governance is new
The agentic AI platform, with audit trails and procedure limits for agents built by Eltropy and partners, launched in March 2026.
What are the alternatives to Eltropy?
Kasisto
Banking-specific conversational and agentic AI (KAI, KAIgentic, KaiGPT) for digital assistants and staff; part of Backbase since June 2026.
Glia
Contact-centre and AI platform for banks and credit unions: voice and digital AI agents, staff copilot, outbound AI and CRM.
interface.ai
Voice, chat and employee AI agents (BankGPT) and an agentic contact centre (Nexus) for credit unions and community banks.
Talkdesk
Cloud contact centre with AI agents (Autopilot, Copilot, voice biometrics) and a Financial Services Experience Cloud for banks.
Personetics
AI that turns bank transaction data into personalised insights, advice and offers in the bank's app, plus tools for relationship managers.
How much does Eltropy cost?
Eltropy does not publish pricing in the sources reviewed. It sells its texting, video, chat, AI Voice, collections and agentic AI products to credit unions and community banks through sales-led contracts, so any price comes from a quote.
Which banks use Eltropy?
None of the 100 largest US banks tracked on this site is named as an Eltropy customer in an allowed source. Eltropy says more than 700 credit unions and community banks use its platform; named users in trade press include Cobalt Credit Union, which deployed Eltropy AI Voice. In September 2022 its CEO told American Banker it counted about 450 credit unions and 50 banks as clients.
Who owns Eltropy?
Eltropy is privately held. K1 Investment Management led its $25 million Series A in June 2021, with the Curql Fund and CMFG Ventures, both focused on credit unions. Co-founder Ashish Garg is CEO. No valuation has been published.
Is Eltropy a bank or regulated financial institution?
No. Eltropy is a software company selling a communications and AI platform to credit unions and community banks. Those institutions remain responsible for consumer-protection rules, collections-communication rules and third-party oversight of Eltropy.
What did Eltropy acquire?
Eltropy bought video-banking startup POPi/o in June 2022, conversational-AI company Marsview in August 2022 and collections-technology provider Lexop in January 2025. Terms were not disclosed for any of the three.
- Eltropy Raises $25 Million in Series A Funding to Expand Digital Communications Platform for Financial Institutions
- Eltropy announces the Solar industry's first Customer Portal solution to simplify solar buying
- Eltropy Buys POPi/o to Provide Digital Communications to 400+ Credit Unions
- Eltropy Acquires Marsview AI, Empowering Financial Institutions to Automate the Contact Center
- Contact center vendor that favored credit unions bulks up to lure banks
- Eltropy crosses 500+ Community Financial Institutions (CFIs) Milestone
- Eltropy Acquires Lexop to Modernize Loan Repayment and Collections for Credit Unions and Community Banks
- Cobalt Credit Union Teams Up with Eltropy to Deploy AI Voice
- Eltropy Unveils Agentic AI Platform for Credit Unions
When a bank signs with Eltropy, you'll read it here first.
when a bank picks an AI vendor, or a vendor ships for banks, it is in the next morning's brief · six sourced stories · 7 am ET · free
plus every tracker, bank and agent page update, the morning after · leave any morning