AI tools · Conversational AI · Private

Kasisto:
for banks, on the record.

Last updated Sep 24, 2026 · 1 of the 100 banks named · 17 sources

Sells banks and credit unions a conversational and agentic AI platform trained on banking, used for customer-facing digital assistants and for employee knowledge tools; since June 2026 it is sold as part of Backbase's Banking OS rather than as a standalone vendor.

What is Kasisto, and which banks use it?

Kasisto, founded in New York in 2013 as a spin-out of SRI International, sells conversational and agentic AI trained for banking: digital assistants on the KAI platform, the KAIgentic agent platform (2025) and a banking-tuned model, KaiGPT. Backbase bought it on June 23, 2026 for an undisclosed sum. Among our 100 banks, JPMorgan Chase is named as a customer by Kasisto and by American Banker. Kasisto had raised $90 million. Pricing is not published.

Founded

2013

Headquarters

New York, New York, US

Ownership

Acquired by Backbase, the Amsterdam-based banking-software company, announced and completed June 23, 2026 for an undisclosed amount; Kasisto had raised a total of $90 million by its September 2024 Series D.[1][2][4]

Deployment

SaaS (cloud); the KaiGPT model can also run in the bank's own cloud or on premises; since June 2026 sold inside Backbase's Banking OS

Pricing

Sales-led subscription (cloud); since June 2026 sold through Backbase's Banking OS · not published

Banks among the 100

1

  • Backbase, the Amsterdam-based banking-software company, announced and completed the acquisition of Kasisto on June 23, 2026; American Banker reported the price was undisclosed and that Kasisto CEO Lance Berks would transition out of the company after the deal.
  • Kasisto was launched out of SRI International and released KAI Banking in June 2016, naming Royal Bank of Canada and DBS Bank as early users of its smart bots.
  • Kasisto said in May 2023 it was already working with 47 major financial institutions when it launched KAI-GPT, a banking-specific large language model, and KAI Answers, a generative-AI tool for front-line bank staff.
  • Kasisto's releases name J.P. Morgan, Westpac, Standard Chartered, TD and Nedbank among its customers, plus Indiana-based First Financial Bank, Meriwest and Indiana University Credit Union; the First Financial named is First Financial Corporation of Terre Haute, not First Financial Bancorp of Ohio.
  • Total funding reached $90 million with a Series D closed in September 2024, when Don Layden became executive chairman; earlier investors named by Kasisto include Oak HC/FT, NCR, Naples Technology Ventures, Rho Capital Partners and Two Sigma Ventures.
  • KAIgentic launched in early access in August 2025, KAIops (agentic IT-operations incident analysis) followed in October 2025, and in November 2025 Kasisto said KAIgentic was integrated with Microsoft Agent 365.
  • Pricing is not published; KAI Express (2021) was sold as a cloud subscription that a bank or credit union could end after 90 days if not satisfied.

What does Kasisto sell to banks?

ProductWhat it doesStatus
KAIgentic[7][1]Agentic AI platform for customer interactions, employee workflows and contact-centre experiences, with compliance pre- and post-processing and an AI agent console; early access from August 2025.Generally available
KaiGPT (KAI-GPT)[10][7]Kasisto's banking-specific large language model, launched May 2023; deployable in the bank's cloud or on premises as an option inside KAIgentic.Generally available
KAI Answers[10][4]Generative-AI knowledge assistant that answers bank employees' questions from the institution's policies, procedures and product documents, and feeds answers to Kasisto's virtual assistants.Generally available
KAI digital assistants (consumer and business banking)[12][14]Pre-trained virtual assistants for bank and credit-union apps, websites and messaging, sold in 2021 as KAI Express, a cloud offering designed to deploy in 30 days.Generally available
KAIops[8]Operational-intelligence layer on KAIgentic that monitors system health, correlates telemetry and drafts root-cause analyses for bank IT incidents; announced October 2025.Announced
Agentic Banking suite in Backbase Banking OS[1]The combined Backbase and Kasisto agentic offering, which Backbase says is available immediately to all current and future Banking OS customers.Generally available

How much does Kasisto cost?

How it is charged: Sales-led subscription (cloud); since June 2026 sold through Backbase's Banking OS.

Kasisto does not publish a price list.

Pricing is not published. Neither Kasisto nor Backbase lists plans or prices; the only public term is from 2021, when Kasisto said KAI Express customers could end their subscription after 90 days if not satisfied.

Which banks use Kasisto?

BankWhatStatus
JPMorgan ChaseNamed as a customer of Kasisto's KAI conversational AI platform in Kasisto's releases and in American Banker's 2026 acquisition report; the deployment is not described in either source.[4][2]In production

Among the 100 largest US banks on this site, from sources that name the bank: the bank, Kasisto or the press. Status is the furthest stage a source confirms.

What is KAIgentic (KAI platform)?

Kasisto's agentic AI platform, launched August 2025 on top of its KAI conversational platform, orchestrates banking AI agents across voice and digital channels, with pre- and post-processing layers for policy, hallucination detection and confidence scoring, an agent console for human staff, and a choice of open models or Kasisto's own banking-tuned KaiGPT model.[7]

What has Kasisto done, and when?

Kasisto's dated AI moves by year2013–2023Jan 01 2013Kasisto foundedJun 28 2016KAI Banking on messagingMar 13 2019Standard Chartered's Stacy in p…Jul 13 2021KAI Express launchedJul 28 2021$15.5 million Series CSep 14 2021Integrated into Glia's platformMay 31 2023KAI-GPT and KAI Answers2024Feb 22First Financial Bank (Indiana)…Sep 17Series D; total funding $90 mil…Oct 23Lance Berks becomes CEO2025Aug 19KAIgentic launchedOct 14KAIops announcedNov 19Microsoft Agent 365 integration2026Jun 23Acquired by Backbase
Figure 1 · Kasisto's AI moves by year, from the timeline below. Before 2024 is collapsed into one column. Filled boxes are the current year. Every entry cites its source in the list at the end of the page.
  • Jun 23, 2026

    Acquired by Backbase[1][2][3]

    Backbase acquires Kasisto for an undisclosed amount; Kasisto's platform and New York team join Backbase's Banking OS, and CEO Lance Berks transitions out.

  • Nov 19, 2025

    Microsoft Agent 365 integration[9]

    Kasisto says KAIgentic is one of the first agentic platforms integrated with Microsoft Agent 365.

  • Oct 14, 2025

    KAIops announced[8]

    An operational-intelligence layer on KAIgentic for bank IT incident monitoring and root-cause analysis.

  • Aug 19, 2025

    KAIgentic launched[7]

    Kasisto launches its agentic AI platform in early access with select banks and credit unions, with broader availability expected later in 2025.

  • Oct 23, 2024

    Lance Berks becomes CEO[5]

    Berks, formerly of Amelia and Kore.ai, succeeds co-founder Zor Gorelov, who becomes a senior advisor.

  • Sep 17, 2024

    Series D; total funding $90 million[4]

    Kasisto closes a Series D that brings total funding to $90 million and names Don Layden executive chairman.

  • Feb 22, 2024

    First Financial Bank (Indiana) results[11]

    Kasisto reports that First Financial Bank's KAI-powered assistant Gabby, launched May 2023, coincided with a 10% rise in new accounts opened (bank- and vendor-reported).

  • May 31, 2023

    KAI-GPT and KAI Answers[10]

    Kasisto launches a banking-specific large language model and its first generative-AI application for bank staff, saying it works with 47 major financial institutions; Westpac is implementing KAI.

  • Sep 14, 2021

    Integrated into Glia's platform[17]

    Glia integrates Kasisto's KAI assistant into its digital customer-service platform, with hand-off from the assistant to a live representative.

  • Jul 28, 2021

    $15.5 million Series C[13]

    Series C led by Naples Technology Ventures and NCR, with existing investors including Oak HC/FT, Rho Capital Partners and Two Sigma Ventures; Kasisto says it has raised over $67 million to date.

  • Jul 13, 2021

    KAI Express launched[12]

    A cloud-delivered, pre-trained digital assistant designed to deploy in 30 days, with a subscription the customer can end after 90 days if not satisfied.

  • Mar 13, 2019

    Standard Chartered's Stacy in production[15]

    Kasisto says the KAI-powered assistant Stacy is in full production with Standard Chartered Bank in Hong Kong, in English and Cantonese.

  • Jun 28, 2016

    KAI Banking on messaging[14]

    Kasisto releases KAI Banking for Facebook Messenger, Slack and SMS; Royal Bank of Canada is named as the first North American bank to use it and DBS Bank as rolling out KAI-powered bots.

  • Jan 1, 2013

    Kasisto founded[16][14]

    Kasisto is founded in 2013 (exact date not disclosed) as a company launched out of SRI International.

What do banks use Kasisto for?

Kasisto's AI systems on the status ladder from announced to in productionANNOUNCEDPILOTROLLING OUTIN PRODUCTIONCustomer-facing digital assistantsAgentic AI for service and operationsEmployee knowledge assistantDelivery through banking platforms
Figure 2 · Where AI runs at Kasisto, and how far along. 3 of 4 named systems are in production; the rest are rolling out, piloted or announced. Status is as described in the cited source at its date.
UseWhat it doesStatusUse case
Customer-facing digital assistants[15][11]Branded virtual assistants in bank apps, websites and messaging that answer questions and complete banking tasks, such as Standard Chartered's Stacy and First Financial Bank's Gabby.In productionCustomer-facing chatbots
Agentic AI for service and operations[7][8]KAIgentic agents that act within bank procedures across voice and digital channels, and KAIops agents for IT incident analysis.Rolling outGenerative & agentic AI
Employee knowledge assistant[10][4]KAI Answers gives front-line staff generated answers drawn from the bank's policies, procedures and product documents.In productionGenerative & agentic AI
Delivery through banking platforms[4][1]Kasisto assistants are sold through partners such as FIS, NCR, Candescent and Q2, and since June 2026 inside Backbase's Banking OS.In productionThird-party & vendor AI

What has Kasisto disclosed in numbers?

MetricValueAs of
Total funding raised$90 million (after the Series D)[4]Sep 17, 2024
Financial-institution customers (vendor-reported)47 major financial institutions[10]May 31, 2023
Series C round$15.5 million; over $67 million raised to date[13]Jul 28, 2021
Assistant results across customers (vendor-reported)85% containment rates, 50% reduction in customer-service costs, 400% increase in digital engagement[13]Jul 28, 2021
First Financial Bank, Indiana (vendor-reported)10% increase in new accounts opened and 46% more logins by digital customers who use the assistant[11]Feb 22, 2024
Acquisition priceNot disclosed[2]Jun 23, 2026

“This acquisition sharpens our position as the strategic partner for banks serious about AI transformation.”[1]

Jouk Pleiter · CEO and Founder, Backbase · Jun 23, 2026

“Trust is the currency of banking, and most AI cannot be trusted.”[7]

Lance Berks · CEO, Kasisto · Aug 19, 2025

“Agentic AI will reshape banking over the next decade.”[1]

Lance Berks · CEO, Kasisto · Jun 23, 2026

Who runs Kasisto?

Lance Berks

Chief Executive Officer (from October 2024; transitioning out after the June 2026 acquisition)[5][2]

Zor Gorelov

Co-founder; CEO until October 2024, then senior advisor[5]

Joshua Schechter

Chief Product and Innovation Officer (from January 2025)[6][7]

Don Layden

Executive Chairman of the Board (from September 2024)[4]

Jouk Pleiter

CEO and founder of Backbase, Kasisto's owner[1]

Which rules apply to a bank using Kasisto?

AuthorityWhy it matters hereDocuments
CFPBA bank that puts a Kasisto assistant in front of customers remains responsible under consumer law if it gives wrong answers, fails to recognise a dispute or blocks access to a human, the risks the CFPB's 2023 chatbot spotlight describes.CFPB Chatbots in Consumer Finance (issue spotlight, 2023)
NISTKaiGPT and KAI Answers generate text from bank documents; NIST's Generative AI Profile names confabulation and information-integrity risks that a bank would assess before letting generated answers reach customers or staff.NIST AI 600-1 (Generative AI Profile)
OCCA hosted assistant that handles customer data is a third-party relationship; the 2023 interagency guidance on due diligence, contracts and monitoring now also covers the change of owner to Backbase.OCC Bulletin 2023-17
SR 23-4
NY DFSNew York's 2024 customer-service letter sets expectations for banks it supervises that use virtual assistants, including a route to a human agent.DFS Virtual Currency Customer Service Guidance (May 2024)
EU AI ActFor a bank operating in the EU, Article 50 requires telling customers they are interacting with an AI system, which applies to Kasisto-powered assistants.Regulation (EU) 2024/1689

Linked authorities have a page in the AI Regulation Tracker; the others are named for completeness.

What should a bank note before buying Kasisto?

Analysis by BankingNewsAI from the sources cited on this page. Observations, not advice or a recommendation.

01

The vendor changed owner in June 2026

Kasisto is now part of Backbase, its CEO is transitioning out, and Backbase sells the combined offering through its Banking OS; contract counterparty, roadmap and support model are the points the record leaves open.

02

Pricing is not published

Neither Kasisto nor Backbase lists prices; the only public commercial term is KAI Express's 2021 90-day exit option.

03

Named large-bank customers are few and mostly dated

Kasisto's customer list has named J.P. Morgan, TD, Westpac and Standard Chartered for years without describing current deployments; the releases do not say whether 'TD' refers to TD's US bank, and an earlier 2018 list that included Wells Fargo was not repeated later.

04

The 'First Financial Bank' in Kasisto's releases is the Indiana bank

American Banker identifies it as Indiana-based First Financial Bank (First Financial Corporation), not First Financial Bancorp of Ohio, which is one of our tracked banks.

05

Performance figures are vendor-reported

Containment, cost-reduction and account-growth figures come from Kasisto's own releases and are not independently audited.

What are the alternatives to Kasisto?

Glia

Contact-centre and AI platform for banks and credit unions: voice and digital AI agents, staff copilot, outbound AI and CRM.

interface.ai

Voice, chat and employee AI agents (BankGPT) and an agentic contact centre (Nexus) for credit unions and community banks.

Talkdesk

Cloud contact centre with AI agents (Autopilot, Copilot, voice biometrics) and a Financial Services Experience Cloud for banks.

Personetics

AI that turns bank transaction data into personalised insights, advice and offers in the bank's app, plus tools for relationship managers.

Eltropy

Texting, video, chat and AI voice and agent platform for credit unions and community banks, plus collections and payments tools.

How much does Kasisto cost?

Kasisto does not publish pricing, and Backbase, which acquired it in June 2026, does not list a price for the combined agentic offering either. Kasisto sold its assistants as cloud subscriptions through a sales-led process; in 2021 it said KAI Express customers could end their subscription after 90 days if they were not satisfied. Any current price has to come from a Backbase or Kasisto quote.

Which banks use Kasisto?

Among the 100 largest US banks tracked here, JPMorgan Chase is the one named as a Kasisto customer, in Kasisto's own releases and in American Banker's June 2026 report on the Backbase deal; neither describes the deployment. Kasisto also names Westpac, Standard Chartered, TD, Nedbank and DBS abroad, and US community banks and credit unions such as First Financial Bank of Indiana, Meriwest and Indiana University Credit Union.

Who owns Kasisto?

Backbase, the Amsterdam-based banking-software company founded by Jouk Pleiter, acquired Kasisto on June 23, 2026 for an undisclosed amount. Before that Kasisto was venture-backed, raising $90 million in total through a September 2024 Series D from investors that had included Oak HC/FT, NCR, Naples Technology Ventures, Rho Capital Partners and Two Sigma Ventures.

Is Kasisto a bank or regulated financial institution?

No. Kasisto is a software company that sells conversational and agentic AI to banks and credit unions; it holds no banking charter. The banks using its assistants carry the regulatory duties, including consumer-protection rules for chatbots and third-party risk management of Kasisto, and now Backbase, as a vendor.

What is KAIgentic?

KAIgentic is Kasisto's agentic AI platform, launched in early access in August 2025. It runs AI agents for customer service, employee workflows and contact centres across voice and digital channels, adds compliance checks before and after the model responds, including hallucination detection and confidence scoring, and lets a bank use open models or Kasisto's own banking-tuned KaiGPT, which can run in the bank's cloud or on premises.

How does Kasisto compare with Glia?

The two have worked together: in September 2021 Glia integrated Kasisto's KAI assistant into its digital customer-service platform so conversations could pass from the assistant to a human representative. Kasisto's focus is the banking-trained assistant and agent layer, now inside Backbase's Banking OS; Glia sells a contact-centre and customer-service platform to banks and credit unions. Neither publishes pricing.

  1. Backbase acquires Kasisto, leading the industry shift to Agentic Banking
    Backbase · Jun 23, 2026
  2. Bank chatbot platform Kasisto acquired by Backbase
    American Banker · Jun 23, 2026
  3. Backbase Acquires Kasisto for Agentic Banking
    PYMNTS · Jun 23, 2026
  4. Kasisto Secures $90M, Names Don Layden as Executive Chairman
    Kasisto · Sep 17, 2024
  5. Conversational AI Veteran Lance Berks Joins Kasisto as CEO
    Kasisto · Oct 23, 2024
  6. Kasisto Appoints Joshua Schechter as Chief Product & Innovation Officer to Lead Next Wave of Agentic AI in Banking
    Kasisto · Jan 7, 2025
  7. Kasisto Launches KAIgentic, The Banking Standard for Agentic AI
    Kasisto · Aug 19, 2025
  8. Kasisto Launches KAIops - Agentic AI for Near-Zero Incident Banking Operations
    Kasisto · Oct 14, 2025
  9. Kasisto Powers AI for Banking Across the Microsoft Enterprise Ecosystem
    Kasisto · Nov 19, 2025
  10. Kasisto Launches KAI-GPT
    Kasisto · May 31, 2023
  11. First Financial Bank Drives 27% CD Growth with Kasisto's AI
    Kasisto · Feb 22, 2024
  12. Kasisto Launches KAI Express - A Cloud Based Intelligent Digital Assistant Offering, Designed for Rapid Deployment and Delivered with a Results Acceleration Reassurance Guarantee
    Kasisto (PR Newswire) · Jul 13, 2021
  13. Leading the Evolution of AI-powered IDAs
    Kasisto · Jul 28, 2021
  14. Kasisto Releases KAI Banking on Messaging
    Kasisto · Jun 28, 2016
  15. KAI Banking Powers Standard Chartered's Virtual Assistant
    Kasisto · Mar 13, 2019
  16. Kasisto Awarded 2018 the Fintech 250
    Kasisto · Oct 22, 2018
  17. Glia and Kasisto Partner to Incorporate AI into its Digital Customer Service Platform
    Glia · Sep 14, 2021

When a bank signs with Kasisto, you'll read it here first.

when a bank picks an AI vendor, or a vendor ships for banks, it is in the next morning's brief · six sourced stories · 7 am ET · free

plus every tracker, bank and agent page update, the morning after · leave any morning