# Backbase for banks: pricing, customers, review

Source: https://www.bankingnewsai.com/vendors/backbase
Last updated: Sep 24, 2026

*Sells banks and credit unions a platform that sits on top of their existing cores to run digital channels, employee workspaces and, since 2026, governed AI agents, and bought Kasisto in June 2026 to add banking-specific conversational and agentic AI.*

## What is Backbase, and which banks use it?

Backbase is a private Amsterdam banking-software company, founded 2003 by CEO Jouk Pleiter and valued at €2.5 billion when Motive Partners invested €120 million in 2022. In April 2026 it relaunched its platform as an 'AI-native Banking OS' for agents, and in June 2026 it bought Kasisto, whose conversational-AI customers include JPMorgan Chase and TD Bank. It reports more than $350 million of 2025 revenue and over 120 institutions. Pricing is not published.

## At a glance

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Category | [Banking platforms](https://www.bankingnewsai.com/ai-tools/banking-platforms) · [Conversational AI](https://www.bankingnewsai.com/ai-tools/conversational-ai) |
| Founded | 2003 |
| Headquarters | Amsterdam, Netherlands |
| Ownership | Private and founder-led (Jouk Pleiter, CEO); bootstrapped until June 2022, when Motive Partners invested €120 million of growth equity at a €2.5 billion valuation, its first external capital. ([Backbase (Business Wire)](https://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20220609005161/en/Engagement-Banking-Leader-Backbase-Raises-%E2%82%AC120M-From-Motive-Partners), [Backbase](https://www.backbase.com/press/backbase-launches-the-ai-native-banking-os-a-new-category-for-agentic-banking)) |
| Ticker | private |
| Deployment | Platform layer above the bank's existing core, payments, cards, risk and CRM systems; delivered directly and through partners |
| Pricing model | Sales-led enterprise platform contracts; not published. |
| Banks among the 100 largest US banks | 1 |

## Products

| Product | What it does | Status | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| AI-native Banking OS | Operating layer above a bank's systems of record with Intelligence, Semantic (Nexus) and Authority (Sentinel) layers for coordinating customers, employees and AI agents. | Generally available | [Backbase](https://www.backbase.com/press/backbase-launches-the-ai-native-banking-os-a-new-category-for-agentic-banking) |
| Agentic Banking suite (with Kasisto) | Kasisto's conversational and agentic AI embedded in the Banking OS for chat, messaging and voice, aimed at resolving customer requests end to end rather than only answering them; available to all Banking OS customers from June 2026. | Generally available | [Backbase](https://www.backbase.com/press/backbase-acquires-kasisto-leading-the-industry-shift-to-agentic-banking), [American Banker](https://www.americanbanker.com/news/backbase-acquires-ai-bank-chatbot-platform-kasisto) |
| Sentinel (Authority Layer) | Policy engine that decides what each customer, employee or AI agent may do, checks every action against bank policy before it executes, logs it, and lets trust be revoked by domain. | Generally available | [Backbase](https://www.backbase.com/press/backbase-launches-the-ai-native-banking-os-a-new-category-for-agentic-banking) |
| Nexus (Semantic Layer) | Shared, continuously updated record of every customer, account, product and case, read and written by employees and AI agents. | Generally available | [Backbase](https://www.backbase.com/press/backbase-launches-the-ai-native-banking-os-a-new-category-for-agentic-banking) |

## How much does Backbase cost?

How it is charged: Sales-led enterprise platform contracts; not published..

Backbase does not publish a price list.

Pricing is not published. Backbase lists no plans or prices for the Banking OS or the Kasisto agentic suite, and as a private company it files no disclosures describing its pricing model.

## Which banks use Backbase?

| Bank | What | Status | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [JPMorgan Chase](https://www.bankingnewsai.com/banks/jpmorgan-chase) | Kasisto conversational AI (Kasisto acquired by Backbase June 2026); the deployment is not described in the source | In production | [American Banker](https://www.americanbanker.com/news/backbase-acquires-ai-bank-chatbot-platform-kasisto) |

Among the [100 largest US banks](https://www.bankingnewsai.com/banks) on this site, from sources that name the bank.

## Flagship platform: AI-native Banking OS

Launched April 22, 2026: Backbase's existing channel and workflow architecture plus three new layers — an Intelligence Layer for risk, revenue and churn signals, a Semantic Layer (Nexus) giving employees and AI agents one customer record, and an Authority Layer (Sentinel) that checks every action against bank policy and logs it. Kasisto's agentic platform was added in June 2026. ([Backbase](https://www.backbase.com/press/backbase-launches-the-ai-native-banking-os-a-new-category-for-agentic-banking), [Backbase](https://www.backbase.com/press/backbase-acquires-kasisto-leading-the-industry-shift-to-agentic-banking))

## Key points

- Backbase says it passed $350 million of revenue in 2025 and serves more than 120 financial institutions in 50 countries; in 2022 it cited more than 2,000 employees and 150 customers.
- The AI-native Banking OS (April 22, 2026) adds Intelligence, Semantic (Nexus) and Authority (Sentinel) layers so customers, employees and AI agents share one customer record and every agent action is authorized and logged.
- Backbase bought Kasisto on June 23, 2026 for an undisclosed amount; Kasisto's agentic platform and New York team joined the Banking OS, and Kasisto CEO Lance Berks transitioned out after the deal closed.
- Through Kasisto, Backbase inherits conversational-AI customers that American Banker lists as including JPMorgan Chase and TD Bank, plus community institutions such as First Financial Bank (Indiana) and Meriwest Credit Union.
- Backbase names TD Bank and KeyBank among its major platform deployments and Navy Federal Credit Union as a seven-year partner (renewed April 2024); these are platform relationships, not described as AI deployments.
- Backbase estimates, from more than 120 deployments, that about 80% of frontline banking work happens between systems — its argument for putting agents on a shared platform layer (vendor estimate).
- Pricing is not published; Backbase sells through sales-led enterprise contracts and has disclosed no price for the Banking OS or the Kasisto agentic suite.

## Timeline

- Jul 17, 2026 — **Kasisto customers moved onto the Banking OS** Backbase tells Kasisto customers that 'nothing breaks' and that Kasisto's platform, team and roadmap now sit inside the Banking OS rather than as a standalone layer. ([Backbase](https://www.backbase.com/blog/kasisto-backbase-alternatives-the-search-just-got-shorter))
- Jun 23, 2026 — **Kasisto acquired** Backbase acquires Kasisto for an undisclosed amount; its agentic platform and New York team join the Banking OS, the combined Agentic Banking suite goes to all Banking OS customers, and Kasisto CEO Lance Berks transitions out. ([Backbase](https://www.backbase.com/press/backbase-acquires-kasisto-leading-the-industry-shift-to-agentic-banking), [American Banker](https://www.americanbanker.com/news/backbase-acquires-ai-bank-chatbot-platform-kasisto))
- Jun 1, 2026 — **Agentic fraud-review use case** Backbase describes agentic AI for fraud review that plans and executes multi-step investigations and resolves or escalates cases on the Banking OS. ([Backbase](https://www.backbase.com/blog/agentic-ai-fraud-prevention-banking))
- Apr 22, 2026 — **AI-native Banking OS launched** Backbase relaunches its platform as the AI-native Banking OS with Intelligence, Nexus and Sentinel layers, calling it the most significant change in its 22-year history, and reports more than $350 million of 2025 revenue. ([Backbase](https://www.backbase.com/press/backbase-launches-the-ai-native-banking-os-a-new-category-for-agentic-banking))
- Apr 11, 2024 — **Navy Federal renews for seven years** Navy Federal Credit Union renews and expands its partnership, standardizing on Backbase for member- and employee-facing applications. ([Backbase](https://www.backbase.com/press/navy-federal-credit-union-announces-7-year-strategic-partnership-with-backbase))
- Jun 9, 2022 — **€120 million from Motive Partners** After growing organically to over €200 million in revenue, Backbase raises €120 million of growth equity from Motive Partners at a €2.5 billion valuation, citing more than 2,000 employees and 150 customers. ([Backbase (Business Wire)](https://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20220609005161/en/Engagement-Banking-Leader-Backbase-Raises-%E2%82%AC120M-From-Motive-Partners), [FinTech Futures](https://www.fintechfutures.com/2022/06/motive-partners-invests-e120m-in-digital-banking-tech-vendor-backbase))
- Jan 1, 2003 — **Backbase founded** Jouk Pleiter founds Backbase, now headquartered in Amsterdam (exact date not disclosed). ([Backbase](https://www.backbase.com/press/backbase-launches-the-ai-native-banking-os-a-new-category-for-agentic-banking))

## What do banks use Backbase for?

| Use case | What | Status | Detail | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Customer-facing chatbots](https://www.bankingnewsai.com/ai-regulation/by-use-case#customer-chatbots) | Conversational assistants (Kasisto) | In production | Customer-facing chat, messaging and voice assistants built on Kasisto's banking-trained conversational AI, now inside the Banking OS. | [American Banker](https://www.americanbanker.com/news/backbase-acquires-ai-bank-chatbot-platform-kasisto), [Backbase](https://www.backbase.com/press/backbase-acquires-kasisto-leading-the-industry-shift-to-agentic-banking) |
| [Generative & agentic AI](https://www.bankingnewsai.com/ai-regulation/by-use-case#generative-agentic-ai) | Governed AI agents across the frontline | Announced | Agents that act on a shared customer record (Nexus) with every action authorized and logged by Sentinel, for servicing, onboarding and operations. | [Backbase](https://www.backbase.com/press/backbase-launches-the-ai-native-banking-os-a-new-category-for-agentic-banking) |
| [Fraud detection](https://www.bankingnewsai.com/ai-regulation/by-use-case#fraud) | Agentic fraud review | Announced | Agents that assemble evidence on a suspicious transaction, investigate and resolve or escalate with a case file; described by Backbase as a use case, with no named bank. | [Backbase](https://www.backbase.com/blog/agentic-ai-fraud-prevention-banking) |
| [Third-party & vendor AI](https://www.bankingnewsai.com/ai-regulation/by-use-case#third-party-vendors) | Platform layer above the core | In production | The Banking OS sits above cores, payments, cards, risk and CRM from other vendors, making Backbase an additional critical third party for the bank. | [Backbase](https://www.backbase.com/press/backbase-launches-the-ai-native-banking-os-a-new-category-for-agentic-banking) |

## Disclosed numbers

| Measure | Value | As of | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| 2025 revenue (company-reported) | more than $350 million | Dec 31, 2025 | [Backbase](https://www.backbase.com/press/backbase-launches-the-ai-native-banking-os-a-new-category-for-agentic-banking) |
| Institutions served (company-reported) | over 120 financial institutions in 50 countries | Apr 22, 2026 | [Backbase](https://www.backbase.com/press/backbase-launches-the-ai-native-banking-os-a-new-category-for-agentic-banking) |
| Valuation at Motive Partners investment | €2.5 billion (€120 million raised) | Jun 9, 2022 | [Backbase (Business Wire)](https://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20220609005161/en/Engagement-Banking-Leader-Backbase-Raises-%E2%82%AC120M-From-Motive-Partners) |
| Customers and staff (company-reported, 2022) | 150 customers; more than 2,000 employees | Jun 9, 2022 | [Backbase (Business Wire)](https://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20220609005161/en/Engagement-Banking-Leader-Backbase-Raises-%E2%82%AC120M-From-Motive-Partners) |
| Frontline work between systems (vendor estimate) | roughly 80%, based on more than 120 deployments | Apr 22, 2026 | [Backbase](https://www.backbase.com/press/backbase-launches-the-ai-native-banking-os-a-new-category-for-agentic-banking) |
| Kasisto acquisition price | Not disclosed | Jun 23, 2026 | [American Banker](https://www.americanbanker.com/news/backbase-acquires-ai-bank-chatbot-platform-kasisto) |

## Quotes

> "AI agents need shared context, clear authority, and a unified execution layer. Without it, adding more AI accelerates the fragmentation it was meant to solve." — Jouk Pleiter, Founder and CEO, Backbase, Apr 22, 2026 ([Backbase](https://www.backbase.com/press/backbase-launches-the-ai-native-banking-os-a-new-category-for-agentic-banking))

> "This acquisition sharpens our position as the strategic partner for banks serious about AI transformation." — Jouk Pleiter, Founder and CEO, Backbase, Jun 23, 2026 ([Backbase](https://www.backbase.com/press/backbase-acquires-kasisto-leading-the-industry-shift-to-agentic-banking))

## Who runs Backbase?

- **Jouk Pleiter** — Founder and Chief Executive Officer ([Backbase (Business Wire)](https://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20220609005161/en/Engagement-Banking-Leader-Backbase-Raises-%E2%82%AC120M-From-Motive-Partners), [Backbase](https://www.backbase.com/press/backbase-acquires-kasisto-leading-the-industry-shift-to-agentic-banking))

## Which rules apply to a bank using Backbase?

- [OCC](https://www.bankingnewsai.com/ai-regulation/occ) — The Banking OS sits over a bank's customer channels and, with Kasisto, runs customer-facing AI assistants; OCC Bulletin 2023-17 governs that third-party relationship, including Backbase's own subcontractors. See [OCC Bulletin 2023-17](https://www.bankingnewsai.com/ai-regulation/documents/occ-bulletin-2023-17).
- [Federal Reserve](https://www.bankingnewsai.com/ai-regulation/federal-reserve) — Fed-supervised banks manage Backbase as a critical third party under SR 23-4; SR 26-2 excludes generative and agentic AI, so the agents coordinated by Sentinel fall to the bank's broader risk management rather than model-risk validation. See [SR 23-4](https://www.bankingnewsai.com/ai-regulation/documents/fed-sr-23-4), [SR 26-2](https://www.bankingnewsai.com/ai-regulation/documents/fed-sr-26-2).
- [CFPB](https://www.bankingnewsai.com/ai-regulation/cfpb) — Customer-facing assistants from Kasisto inside the Banking OS raise the accuracy, escalation and consumer-protection issues the CFPB described for chatbots in consumer finance. See [CFPB Chatbots in Consumer Finance (issue spotlight, 2023)](https://www.bankingnewsai.com/ai-regulation/documents/cfpb-chatbots-in-consumer-finance-2023).
- [EU AI Act](https://www.bankingnewsai.com/ai-regulation/eu-ai-act) — Backbase is based in Amsterdam and many of its bank customers are in the EU, where AI systems used in banking, including customer-facing chatbots with transparency duties, fall under the AI Act. See [Regulation (EU) 2024/1689](https://www.bankingnewsai.com/ai-regulation/documents/eu-ai-act-regulation-2024-1689).

## What the record suggests

### The agentic layer is new

The AI-native Banking OS launched in April 2026 and the Kasisto suite joined in June 2026; Backbase's public material describes agentic use cases (fraud review, onboarding) without naming banks running them in production.

### Named AI customers come from Kasisto

The large US banks tied to Backbase's AI (JPMorgan Chase, TD Bank) are Kasisto customers per American Banker; neither source describes what those banks run. TD Bank and KeyBank are also named Backbase platform deployments, which Backbase does not describe as AI.

### Pricing is not published

No plans, prices or pricing model are disclosed for the Banking OS or the Agentic Banking suite.

### Post-acquisition continuity

Kasisto's CEO left after the deal and Kasisto is now sold only inside the Banking OS; Backbase says existing Kasisto customers see no break, a claim buyers can confirm in contract terms.

### Customer count moved

Backbase cited 150 customers in 2022 and 'over 120' financial institutions in 2026; the sources do not explain the difference.

## FAQ

### How much does Backbase cost?

Backbase does not publish pricing. It sells its AI-native Banking OS and the Kasisto-based Agentic Banking suite through sales-led enterprise contracts, and as a private company it files no disclosures describing its pricing model. No plan names or prices are public.

### Which banks use Backbase's AI?

Among the 100 largest US banks tracked here, JPMorgan Chase is named by American Banker as a customer of Kasisto, the conversational-AI company Backbase bought in June 2026; the deployment is not described. American Banker also names 'TD Bank' without saying whether that is TD's US bank or its Canadian parent, so it is not listed as a customer here. TD Bank and KeyBank are also named Backbase platform deployments, and Navy Federal Credit Union is a seven-year platform partner.

### Who owns Backbase?

Backbase is privately held and led by its founder and CEO, Jouk Pleiter, who started it in Amsterdam in 2003. It was bootstrapped until June 2022, when Motive Partners invested €120 million at a €2.5 billion valuation. No later valuation has been published in an allowed source.

### Did Backbase buy Kasisto?

Yes. Backbase announced on June 23, 2026 that it had acquired Kasisto, a New York conversational and agentic AI provider for banks, for an undisclosed amount. Kasisto's platform and team became part of the Backbase Banking OS, the combined Agentic Banking suite was made available to all Banking OS customers, and Kasisto CEO Lance Berks transitioned out.

### What is the AI-native Banking OS?

Launched April 22, 2026, it is Backbase's platform relaunched for AI agents. It sits above a bank's cores, payments, cards, risk and CRM systems and adds an Intelligence Layer for risk and churn signals, a Semantic Layer (Nexus) with one shared customer record, and an Authority Layer (Sentinel) that checks and logs every action by customers, staff or agents.

### Backbase vs Q2: how do they differ?

Both sell digital-banking platforms. Backbase positions its Banking OS as a layer over any core for customers, staff and AI agents, with conversational AI from Kasisto, and serves over 120 institutions worldwide. Q2 sells mainly to US banks and credit unions, prices by registered users per its 10-K, and launched Q2 Assistant agents for bank staff in June 2026. Neither publishes prices.

## Sources (8)

1. Backbase launches the AI-Native Banking OS - defining a new category for agentic banking — Backbase, Apr 22, 2026. https://www.backbase.com/press/backbase-launches-the-ai-native-banking-os-a-new-category-for-agentic-banking
2. Backbase acquires Kasisto, leading the industry shift to Agentic Banking — Backbase, Jun 23, 2026. https://www.backbase.com/press/backbase-acquires-kasisto-leading-the-industry-shift-to-agentic-banking
3. Bank chatbot platform Kasisto acquired by Backbase — American Banker, Jun 23, 2026. https://www.americanbanker.com/news/backbase-acquires-ai-bank-chatbot-platform-kasisto
4. Kasisto alternatives: Kasisto is now part of Backbase — Backbase, Jul 17, 2026. https://www.backbase.com/blog/kasisto-backbase-alternatives-the-search-just-got-shorter
5. Agentic AI for fraud review and resolution in banking — Backbase, Jun 1, 2026. https://www.backbase.com/blog/agentic-ai-fraud-prevention-banking
6. Engagement Banking Leader Backbase Raises €120M From Motive Partners — Backbase (Business Wire), Jun 9, 2022. https://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20220609005161/en/Engagement-Banking-Leader-Backbase-Raises-%E2%82%AC120M-From-Motive-Partners
7. Motive Partners invests €120m in digital banking tech vendor Backbase — FinTech Futures, Jun 10, 2022. https://www.fintechfutures.com/2022/06/motive-partners-invests-e120m-in-digital-banking-tech-vendor-backbase
8. Navy Federal Credit Union announces 7-year strategic partnership with Backbase — Backbase, Apr 11, 2024. https://www.backbase.com/press/navy-federal-credit-union-announces-7-year-strategic-partnership-with-backbase

Alternatives: [Q2](https://www.bankingnewsai.com/vendors/q2) · [Alkami](https://www.bankingnewsai.com/vendors/alkami) · [Temenos](https://www.bankingnewsai.com/vendors/temenos) · [Fiserv](https://www.bankingnewsai.com/vendors/fiserv) · [FIS](https://www.bankingnewsai.com/vendors/fis) · [Jack Henry](https://www.bankingnewsai.com/vendors/jack-henry) · [nCino](https://www.bankingnewsai.com/vendors/ncino) · [compare AI banking platforms software](https://www.bankingnewsai.com/ai-tools/banking-platforms) · [compare AI conversational ai software](https://www.bankingnewsai.com/ai-tools/conversational-ai) · [all AI tools for banks](https://www.bankingnewsai.com/ai-tools)

---

Canonical page: https://www.bankingnewsai.com/vendors/backbase
Part of [BankingNewsAI](https://www.bankingnewsai.com/) — a free daily brief on AI in banking, an AI regulation tracker (19 authorities, 167 documents) and AI-strategy profiles of the 100 largest US banks. Markdown versions of every reference page: append `.md` to the page URL; index at https://www.bankingnewsai.com/llms.txt.
