# Barclays US Consumer Bank: Research and IP

Source: https://www.bankingnewsai.com/banks/barclays-us/ai-research-patents-partnerships
Last updated: Oct 16, 2026

*Part of the [Barclays US Consumer Bank AI strategy profile](https://www.bankingnewsai.com/banks/barclays-us).*

## What AI partnerships and patents do Barclays and its US bank have?

Barclays' AI partnerships are signed at group level and rarely name the US bank. Microsoft 365 Copilot reached about 100,000 licences, and Barclays was in the inaugural cohort of Microsoft and Harvard's Frontier Firm initiative (November 2025). Anthropic said on October 1, 2026 that Claude Code should reach 50% of Barclays developers by the end of 2026, rising to most of them in 2027. Databricks named Barclays its 2025 financial-services industry award winner for a unified data platform with machine learning and generative AI, and the 20-F names AWS, Microsoft, GitLab and Databricks as technology partners, with AI tools for 19,000 developers. For the US bank specifically, the record is an expanded Visa agreement (October 2025) that covers US retail issuing and agentic commerce, and an FIS Profile core extension (April 2026); Barclays' live agentic-commerce tests with Visa have been in Europe. Barclays Bank Delaware holds five patent records, none on AI; group AI filings, including a fraud-detection application and two machine-learning change-risk applications, are assigned to Barclays Execution Services Ltd. No research lab or university AI center is attached to the US bank. ([SEC (Barclays PLC 20-F)](https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/312069/000031206926000004/bcs-20251231.htm), [Microsoft](https://microsoft.com/en-us/microsoft-365/blog/2025/11/18/microsoft-ignite-2025-copilot-and-agents-built-to-power-the-frontier-firm), [Anthropic](https://www.anthropic.com/news/barclays-scales-claude), [PYMNTS](https://www.pymnts.com/news/artificial-intelligence/2026/barclays-accelerates-ai-rollout-with-anthropic-claude-code/), [Databricks](https://databricks.com/blog/announcing-winners-2025-data-intelligence-industry-awards), [Visa](https://www.visa.co.uk/about-visa/newsroom/press-releases.3413006.html), [Business Wire via Yahoo Finance](https://finance.yahoo.com/markets/stocks/articles/barclays-fis-extend-partnership-supporting-120000205.html), [Finextra](https://finextra.com/newsarticle/48032/visa-launches-threat-intelligence-platform-carries-out-agentic-transactions-in-europe), [Google Patents (USPTO)](https://patents.google.com/patent/US11424930B2/en), [Google Patents (USPTO)](https://patents.google.com/patent/US20240037559A1/en))

## Who are Barclays' AI partners, and which reach the US bank?

| Partner | What it is | US reach | Date | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Microsoft | Microsoft 365 Copilot for 100,000 colleagues (about 100,000 licences reported); inaugural Frontier Firm cohort with Harvard's Digital Data Design Institute | Group; US share not disclosed | June 2025; November 18, 2025 | [Microsoft](https://ukstories.microsoft.com/features/barclays-rolls-out-microsoft-365-copilot-to-100000-colleagues/), [SEC (Barclays PLC 20-F)](https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/312069/000031206926000004/bcs-20251231.htm), [Microsoft](https://microsoft.com/en-us/microsoft-365/blog/2025/11/18/microsoft-ignite-2025-copilot-and-agents-built-to-power-the-frontier-firm) |
| Anthropic | Claude for UK knowledge search and Global Markets email triage; Claude Code to 50% of developers by end-2026 | Not named | October 1, 2026 | [Anthropic](https://www.anthropic.com/news/barclays-scales-claude), [PYMNTS](https://www.pymnts.com/news/artificial-intelligence/2026/barclays-accelerates-ai-rollout-with-anthropic-claude-code/) |
| GitLab | GitLab Duo for code suggestions, test generation and vulnerability detection; AI tools for 19,000 developers with early gains of about 15% | Group | July 2025; 2025 | [Barclays](https://home.barclays/insights/2025/07/scaling-AI-at-Barclays), [SEC (Barclays PLC 20-F)](https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/312069/000031206926000004/bcs-20251231.htm) |
| Databricks | 2025 Data Intelligence financial-services award for a unified platform with real-time streaming, native ML and generative AI | Group | June 6, 2025 | [Databricks](https://databricks.com/blog/announcing-winners-2025-data-intelligence-industry-awards) |
| AWS | Named technology partner for data, digital and AI | Group | 2025 Form 20-F | [SEC (Barclays PLC 20-F)](https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/312069/000031206926000004/bcs-20251231.htm) |
| Visa | Multi-year agreement including US retail issuing; names agentic commerce | Yes (US issuing) | October 29, 2025 | [Visa](https://www.visa.co.uk/about-visa/newsroom/press-releases.3413006.html), [PYMNTS](https://www.pymnts.com/partnerships/2025/visa-barclays-expand-partnership-with-agentic-commerce-focus/) |
| Visa Agentic Ready and Intelligent Commerce | Barclays among issuers testing agent-initiated transactions; live agentic purchases with 30-plus European issuers | No (Europe and UK) | March 2026; July 2026 | [Fintech Futures](https://fintechfutures.com/ai-in-fintech/visa-agentic-ready-launches-in-europe), [Finextra](https://finextra.com/newsarticle/48032/visa-launches-threat-intelligence-platform-carries-out-agentic-transactions-in-europe) |
| FIS | Profile core for the online deposits business, with real-time data streaming; FIS cites AI-powered insights | Yes (US deposits) | April 14, 2026 | [Business Wire via Yahoo Finance](https://finance.yahoo.com/markets/stocks/articles/barclays-fis-extend-partnership-supporting-120000205.html) |

## Which AI patents are filed by Barclays, and do any belong to the US bank?

Published applications are not granted rights. Group filings are assigned to Barclays Execution Services Ltd; no source says the US bank uses them.

| Number | Title | Assignee | Date | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| US 2024/0037559 A1 | Improvements in fraud detection (ruleset combining fraud-model scores, possibly from a neural network, with rules) | Barclays Execution Services Ltd | Published February 1, 2024 | [Google Patents (USPTO)](https://patents.google.com/patent/US20240037559A1/en) |
| US 2025/0284579 A1 | Determining risk of changes to a computing environment (predictive-model risk score) | Barclays Execution Services Ltd | Published September 11, 2025 | [Google Patents (USPTO)](https://patents.google.com/patent/US20250284579A1/en) |
| US 2025/0284815 A1 | Managing changes to a computing environment (machine learning on change-request text) | Barclays Execution Services Ltd | Published September 11, 2025 | [Google Patents (USPTO)](https://patents.google.com/patent/US20250284815A1/en) |
| US 11,424,930 B2 | Systems and methods for providing account information (newest of five records; none on AI) | Barclays Bank Delaware | Granted August 23, 2022 | [Google Patents (USPTO)](https://patents.google.com/patent/US11424930B2/en) |

## What does the Barclays US profile record on this topic?

| Date | Move | Detail | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Oct 1, 2026 | Group expands Anthropic collaboration | Claude powers a UK colleague knowledge assistant and Global Markets email triage, and Claude Code is expected to reach 50% of developers by end-2026. The announcement does not name the US bank. | [Anthropic](https://www.anthropic.com/news/barclays-scales-claude) |
| Jul 20, 2026 | Samsung Galaxy Card: first wallet-native card | Co-brand with Samsung and Visa; Barclays extends its servicing APIs into Samsung's operating system and wallet so cardholders never need the bank's app. | [American Banker](https://www.americanbanker.com/payments/news/samsung-launches-galaxy-credit-card-to-rival-apple-card) |
| Apr 14, 2026 | FIS core-banking partnership extended | Multi-year deal puts the online deposits business on the cloud-ready FIS Profile core, with real-time data streaming; FIS cites 'AI-powered insights' as part of the modernisation. | [Business Wire via Yahoo Finance](https://finance.yahoo.com/markets/stocks/articles/barclays-fis-extend-partnership-supporting-120000205.html) |
| Feb 10, 2026 | 20-F names the group AI platform and technology partners | Reports about 100,000 Copilot licences, a Barclays AI platform, AWS, Microsoft, GitLab and Databricks as partners, AI tools for 19,000 developers with early gains of about 15%, and recognition as an inaugural Microsoft and Harvard Business School Frontier Firm in November 2025. | [SEC (Barclays PLC 20-F)](https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/312069/000031206926000004/bcs-20251231.htm) |
| Oct 29, 2025 | Visa partnership expanded with agentic-commerce focus | Covers US retail issuing and new payment experiences including agentic commerce. | [PYMNTS](https://www.pymnts.com/partnerships/2025/visa-barclays-expand-partnership-with-agentic-commerce-focus/), [Visa](https://www.visa.co.uk/about-visa/newsroom/press-releases.3413006.html) |
| Sep 11, 2025 | Two machine-learning change-risk applications published | US 2025/0284579 A1 scores the risk of a change request with a predictive model; US 2025/0284815 A1 applies machine learning to the text of change requests. Both are assigned to Barclays Execution Services Ltd. | [Google Patents (USPTO)](https://patents.google.com/patent/US20250284579A1/en), [Google Patents (USPTO)](https://patents.google.com/patent/US20250284815A1/en) |
| Jul 1, 2025 | Craig Bright and Anne Marie Darling become Group Co-COOs | They co-lead technology, operations and Barclays Execution Services, the group service company that holds the group's AI patent filings. | [Barclays](https://home.barclays/news/press-releases/2025/07/barclays-announces-updates-to-group-executive-committee/) |
| Jun 9, 2025 | Microsoft 365 Copilot for 100,000 colleagues | Barclays and Microsoft announce the rollout, integrated into the bank's colleague productivity tool as a single agent, after a 15,000-colleague deployment. The 20-F later reports about 100,000 licences. | [Microsoft](https://ukstories.microsoft.com/features/barclays-rolls-out-microsoft-365-copilot-to-100000-colleagues/), [SEC (Barclays PLC 20-F)](https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/312069/000031206926000004/bcs-20251231.htm) |
| Feb 1, 2024 | Fraud-detection patent application published | US 2024/0037559 A1, assigned to Barclays Execution Services Ltd, describes a ruleset that combines fraud-model scores (the model may be a neural network) with rules to reach a fraud decision on a transaction. It is a group filing, not a Barclays Bank Delaware one. | [Google Patents (USPTO)](https://patents.google.com/patent/US20240037559A1/en) |

## Common questions

### Does Barclays US Consumer Bank have AI patents?

Not under its own name. Barclays Bank Delaware has five Google Patents records, the newest granted August 23, 2022, and none concerns AI. Group AI filings sit with Barclays Execution Services Ltd, including a 2024 fraud-detection application and two 2025 machine-learning change-risk applications.

### Does Barclays use Anthropic's Claude?

Yes, at group level. Anthropic said on October 1, 2026 that Barclays uses Claude for a UK colleague knowledge assistant and Global Markets email triage, and expects Claude Code to reach 50% of its developers by the end of 2026 and most software engineers in 2027. The announcement does not name the US bank.

### Is Barclays a Microsoft Copilot customer?

Yes. Barclays and Microsoft announced Microsoft 365 Copilot for 100,000 colleagues in June 2025, the 20-F reports about 100,000 licences, and Microsoft listed Barclays in the inaugural cohort of its Frontier Firm initiative with Harvard in November 2025. How many licences sit in the US bank is not disclosed.

### Which AI partnerships are specific to Barclays' US bank?

Two partnerships name the US business: the expanded Visa agreement of October 2025, covering US retail issuing and agentic commerce, and the April 2026 FIS extension that moves online deposits onto the Profile core. The other AI relationships on record are group-wide.
## Deeper on Barclays US

- [What is Barclays US Consumer Bank's AI strategy?](https://www.bankingnewsai.com/banks/barclays-us/ai-strategy)
- [Does Barclays US Consumer Bank have a virtual assistant, and what does it do?](https://www.bankingnewsai.com/banks/barclays-us/virtual-assistant)


---

Canonical page: https://www.bankingnewsai.com/banks/barclays-us/ai-research-patents-partnerships
Part of [BankingNewsAI](https://www.bankingnewsai.com/) — a free daily brief on AI in banking, an AI regulation tracker (42 authorities, 243 documents) and AI-strategy profiles of the 120 largest US banks. Markdown versions of every reference page: append `.md` to the page URL; index at https://www.bankingnewsai.com/llms.txt.
